Karnataka floor test highlights: BS Yediyurappa begins fourth innings as CM, wins trust vote in Assembly

By: |
Updated:Jul 30, 2019 12:19:36 pm

BS Yediyurappa took oath on July 26 after the 14-month-old Congress-JD(S) government failed to prove majority in a floor test.

Karnataka Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa being felicitated during a meeting with BJP MLAs in Bengaluru. (PTI Photo)

Days after being sworn in the Karnataka chief minister, BS Yediyurappa won the trust vote in the state assembly on Monday. The senior BJP leader is expected to pass the Finance Bill today. Speaking to PTI, the new CM said, “I have not even changed a comma or full stop in it. I will be tabling the finance bill prepared by the (previous) Congress-JD(S) government.”

“The finance bill (appropriation bill) needs to be passed “urgently”, as otherwise “we will not be able to draw funds even to pay salaries (of government employees),” Yediyurappa added.

Karnataka assembly speaker KR Ramesh Kumar tendered his resignation soon after Yediyurappa won the trust vote. “I have decided to relieve myself from this office. I have decided to resign,” Kumar said. Kumar added that during the 14-months that he held the post, he had upheld the dignity of the office to the best of his ability.

Yediyurappa took oath on July 26 after the 14-month-old Congress-JD(S) government failed to prove majority in a floor test.


Read More

Live Blog


    12:33 (IST)29 Jul 2019
    Puducherry Chief Minister V Narayanasamy hails action of Karna Speaker in disqualifying rebel MLAs

    Puducherry Chief Minister V Narayanasamy on Monday extended support to Karnataka Assembly Speaker K R Ramesh Kumar over disqualifying the rebel MLAs in the assembly. Narayanaswamy also accused BJP of using money power to lure legislators of the other parties to destabilise elected governments.

    12:23 (IST)29 Jul 2019
    Administrative machinery collapsed under Congress-JDS rule, says BS Yediyurappa

    Hitting out at previous government headed by HD Kumaraswamy, CM BS Yediyurappa has said that the administrative machinery in the State had collapsed during the Congress-JDS rule.

    12:05 (IST)29 Jul 2019
    Power is not permanent, even for PM Narendra Modi and JP Nadda: HD Kumaraswamy

    In his speech in the state assembly, former Karnataka Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy said, "Power is not permanent, even for Narendra Modi and JP Nadda. We will not try to bring down your number from 105 to either 100 or lower. You speak of drought, at least now let's see how you will work. We will cooperate with you for the sake of people," reports ANI.

    11:49 (IST)29 Jul 2019
    BS Yediyurappa wins trust vote through voice vote.

    Karnataka BS Yediyurappa has won the trust vote through voice vote in the state assembly today.

    11:46 (IST)29 Jul 2019
    Yediyurappa government is unconstitutional and immoral, says Siddaramaiah

    Former Karnataka CM Siddaramaiah has called the state government headed by BS Yediyurappa as unconstitutional and immoral. Speaking in the state assembly, Siddaramaiah said, "We hope you (BS Yediyurappa) will be chief minister but there is no guarantee of that. You are with the rebels, can you give a stable government? It's impossible! I oppose this confidence motion because the reason is this government is unconstitutional and immoral. Unfortunately, Yediyurappa has never been CM with people's mandate. Where's the mandate? You didn't have it in 2008, 2018 or even now. When he took oath there were 222 MLAs in House, where did BJP have 112 MLAs for majority? They had 105 seats. That is not mandate," quoted ANI.

    11:34 (IST)29 Jul 2019
    Karnataka CM BS Yediyurappa moves confidence motion in the state Assembly

    Karnataka Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa has moved a confidence motion seeking to prove majority in the house. In his remarks, Yediyurappa said he would not indulge in "politics of vengeance" and believed in the "forget and forgive principle," reports PTI.

    10:58 (IST)29 Jul 2019
    Shamanur Shivashankarappa slams Siddaramaiah over Lingayats remark

    Veteran Congress leader Shamanur Shivashankarappa has slammed former minister Siddaramaiah over creating a division between Veerashaivas and Lingayats. Shivashankarappa claimed that both are two faces of the same coin. Shivashankarappa is also the President of All India Veerashaiva Mahasabha.

    10:44 (IST)29 Jul 2019
    CLP meeting concludes

    The Congress legislative party (CLP) meeting, at Karnataka's Vidhana Soudha, has concluded. CLP leader Siddaramaiah, Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee President Dinesh Gundu Rao, KJ George, Priyank Kharge, MB Patil, Eshwar Khandre and other Congress MLAs were present at the meeting.

    09:24 (IST)29 Jul 2019
    5 disqualified Congress MLAs return to Bengaluru

    Five disqualified Congress MLAs, who were putting up at a five-star hotel in Mumbai, returned to Bengaluru on Monday morning. Karnataka assembly speaked disqualified 14 lawmakers under the anti-defection law on Sunday

    On Sunday, the Speaker had disqualified 14 rebel MLAs till the end of the term of the assembly in 2023. After Sunday’s disqualifications, the strength of the 225-member Karnataka assembly has been reduced to 208.  The BJP now has 105 members in the house and the support of one Independent. On the other hand, Congress has 65 and the JDS 34.  
    Next Stories
    1Priyanka Vadra slams Yogi govt over farmer’s suicide in Muzaffarnagar, says BJP mum on payment of sugarcane dues
    2TikTok star-turned BJP leader Sonali Phogat beats official with slipper in Hisar in full public view – Video
    3Maharashtra: Govt staff must report to work once a week or face pay cut