Karnataka Exit Poll Result 2023 Highlights: Congress has an edge over BJP in neck and neck contest

Karnataka Election 2023, Exit Poll Result Live: The results to the Karnataka elections that concluded today will be declared on Saturday, May 13.

Karnataka Exit Poll Result 2023 |
Karnataka Assembly Election Exit Poll Result Live: CM Basavaraj Bommai, KPCC president DK Shivakumar, former CM HD Kumaraswamy.

Karnataka Exit Poll Live Result 2023: The India Today-Axis My India has given the Congress a clear majority in Karnataka, predicting 122-140 seats for the party against 62-80 for the BJP and 20-25 for the JD(S). Most exit polls have predicted a hung Assembly in Karnataka, two suggest Congress touching or crossing the majority mark of 113 while two exit polls predict a victory for the ruling BJP. Two exit polls – Times-Now ETG and Zee News Matrize agency – have predicted a Congress victory. On the other hand, two others – Suvarna News-Jan Ki Baat and News Nation-CGS have predicted a win for the BJP. The TV9 Bharatvarsh-Polstrat, Republic TV-P Marq, and ABP News-C Voter are among those who have predicted a hung house in Karnataka. However, these exit poll results are indicators at best and the final results will only be known once the results are declared on May 13.

The state saw a high-pitched battle between the ruling BJP, Congress and former prime minister HD Deve Gowda’s Janata Dal (Secular). While the ruling BJP, riding on the Modi juggernaut, is hopeful of breaking the 38-year jinx — the state has never voted the incumbent party to power since 1985 — the Congress is seeking to wrest power in the state riding on the “anti-incumbency” factor. It also needs to be seen whether the JD(S) will emerge as a “kingmaker” or a “king” by holding the key for government formation, in the event of a hung verdict, as it has done in the past.

Live Updates

Karnataka exit polls: The state is witnessing a triangular contest between the ruling BJP, Opposition Congress and Janata Dal (Secular).

20:07 (IST) 10 May 2023
India Today-Axis My India Exit poll: Clear majority to Congress in Karnataka

The India Today-Axis MyIndia has predicted a clear victory for the Congress. As per the survey, Congress appears poised to win 122-140 seats against 62-80 for the BJP and 20-25 for the JD(S) while Others are likely to bag 0-3 seats.

19:43 (IST) 10 May 2023
ABP News-CVoter Exit poll: Congress likely to win 112 seats

The ABP-CVoter exit poll shows Congress in the lead with 110 to 112 seats, BJP second with 83-95 seats, JD(S) with 21-29 seats and Others with 2-6 seats.

19:31 (IST) 10 May 2023
Times Now-ETG Karnataka Exit poll predicts 113 seats to Congress

Times Now -ETG Exit Poll

Congress- 113

BJP – 85

JD(S) – 23

Others – 3

19:19 (IST) 10 May 2023
Rahul Gandhi tweets: Thank the Babbar Sher workers and leaders of Congress

“I want to thank the Babbar Sher workers and leaders of Congress for a well-run, dignified and solid people-oriented campaign. Thank you to the people of Karnataka for coming out in large numbers to vote for a progressive future,” tweets Rahul Gandhi.

19:03 (IST) 10 May 2023
Karnataka Exit Polls 2023: Will JD(S) play king-maker again?

None of the final exit poll results released so far have shown a clear verdict to any party. Most exit polls so far give Congress the edge, but not beyond the magic figure of 114 required to form a government. The JD(S), led by former CM HD Kumaraswamy may find takers despite ending up with the least number of seats.

19:00 (IST) 10 May 2023
Karnataka Exit Poll result 2023: Jan Ki Baat predicts hugh Assembly

The Jan Ki Baat post-poll survey for Karnataka has predicted 106 seats to the BJP, 99 to the Congress and 19 to the JD(S).

18:54 (IST) 10 May 2023
Zee News Matrize Agency predicts 103-118 seats to Congress

Zee News Matrize Agency Exit Poll:

BJP – 79-94

Congress+ – 103-118

JDS – 25-33

18:49 (IST) 10 May 2023
TV9 Bharatvarsh-Polstrat Exit poll predicts Hung Assembly in Karnataka

The TV9 Bharatvarsh-Polstrat exit poll has predicted 99-109 seats for the Congress, 88-98 seats for the BJP, 21-26 seats for the JDS and 0-4 seats for Others.

18:47 (IST) 10 May 2023
Karnataka Exit Polls 2023: Three surveys predict hung assembly in Karnataka

Republic TV-P Marq predicts hung House in Karnataka. As per the survey, Congress is likely to emerge as the single-largest party (SLP) with 94-108 seats; BJP with 95-108 seats, JDS with 24-32 seats, while Others may win 2-6 seats.

18:41 (IST) 10 May 2023
India Today-Axis My India, Times Now-ETG Karnataka Exit polls: BJP dominant in Coastal Karnataka

The India Today-Axis My India exit poll for the Karnataka Assembly elections shows the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party retaining its hold on the Coastal Karnataka region. The India Today-Axis My India, Times Now-ETG post-poll surveys show BJP winning 16 seats in the region, against 3 seats for the Congress.

18:34 (IST) 10 May 2023
Karnataka Exit Polls 2023: Poll predictions shortly

The polling in the Karnataka Assembly is in its final leg. The voter turnout has been recorded at over 65 per cent till 5 PM. The poll predictions are set to begin coming in shortly.

18:22 (IST) 10 May 2023
Karnataka Exit Polls 2023: Voter turnout till 5 PM at 65.69 pc

Voting for 224 Assembly seats of Karnataka took place today with the voter turnout till 5 PM recorded at 65.69 per cent. In the last Assembly elections, the voter turnout was 72.36 per cent.

18:18 (IST) 10 May 2023
Karnataka exit polls: Welcome to live blog!

Hello readers! Welcome to Financial Express Online live blog! Catch all live updates on Karnataka exit polls here.

The 2018 Karnataka Assembly elections did not give a clear majority to any party. The BJP was the single-largest party garnering 104 seats, the Congress followed with 80 and JD(S) 37. With no party getting a clear majority at the time and as Congress and JD(S) were trying to forge an alliance, B S Yediyurappa of BJP, which was the single largest party, staked a claim and formed the government. However, the government was dissolved within three days ahead of a trust vote, as Yediyurappa was unable to muster the numbers.

Subsequently, the Congress-JD(S) alliance formed the government with Kumaraswamy as Chief Minister, but the wobbly dispensation collapsed in 14 months, as 17 legislators, including independents, resigned and came out of the ruling coalition. They were all taken to a resort in Mumbai who later defected to the BJP.

First published on: 10-05-2023 at 16:15 IST