Karnataka election dates Live Updates: Polling on May 12, results to be out on May 15

By: |
New Delhi | Updated: March 27, 2018 3:03:59 PM

Karnataka election dates Live Updates: Polling date for Karnataka Assembly polls was announced by the Election Commission. Polling will be held in single-phase on May 12. The counting will be held and results will be out on May 15

karnataka election 2018 datesWho will smile even as the process begins today

Karnataka election dates Live Updates: Polling date for Karnataka Assembly polls was announced by the Election Commission. Polling will be held in single-phase on May 12. The counting will be held and results will be out on May 15. Over 4 crore voters will exercise their franchise in the polls. There will all women-managed booths for this, EC said. Notably, the tenure of the Karnataka assembly will end on May 30, 2018.

The 2013 Assembly Elections were also held on May 5. Ahead of 2019 Lok Sabha polls, Karnataka election assumes significance as it is one of the bigger states (in terms of Lok Sabha seats) that Congress is ruling.

Here are the LIVE Updates of Karnataka election dates

1:25 PM: Congress leader Mallikarjun Kharge claimed, “Amit Malviya tweeted Karnataka elections dates at 11 am. It means BJP is dictating polling dates to Election Commission.”  “I expect EC to work according to the Constitution and law, and not let information leak. Such a thing has never happened before,”  Kharge said.

1:20 PM: All electronic voting machines will be linked to Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trail (VVPAT) machines, he said. To questions from reporters about the polling date being leaked even before he made the official announcement, Rawat said the poll panel will investigate the matter and take stringent legal and administrative action.

1:15 PM: The polls are being seen as politically crucial for Karnataka’s ruling Congress as well as the BJP. It is the only big state where the Congress is in power after losing a string of assembly elections to the saffron party over the last few years.

1:10 PM: The BJP is making a concerted bid to unseat the Congress. The JD(S), led by former prime minister H D Deve Gowda, is the third player in the fray.

1:05 PM: BJP chief Amit Shah claimed that there has been BJP government in Gujarat, MP and Chhattisgarh for the last 15 years and farmer suicide numbers in these states have been very low. Shah said that the suicide cases that have been registered were due to depression and farmers’ personal issues

1:00 PM: Karnataka CM Siddaramaiah has lashed out at BJP MP Prahlad Joshi who had sadi that ‘Siddaramaiah will not come back as CM’. Siddaramaiah said that BJP leaders are making such statements out of desperation, they are nervous that they’ll lose.

12:03 PM: BJP Chief Amit Shah said, “On one hand their party President talks about uniting Hindus, Muslims, Sikhs & Christians, on the other hand their CM is creating a divide between Hindus, such a major internal-conflict is not there in any other party”.

12:00 PM: WATCH– Amit Shah, who is in Karnataka, has spoken after polling dates were announced

11:55 AM: Former Prime Minister HD Deve Gowda said, “When Siddaramaiah was Dy CM & Dharam Singh was CM, we were team B for Congress & now again whether we become team B for Congress or Congress will become team B for JD(S), we will watch”.

11:50 AM: “Certain things may have leaked for which Election Commission will take appropriate action,” said Chief Election Commissioner OP Rawat

11:45 AM: “It will be investigated. Be assured that actions legally and administratively befitting will be taken,” Chief Election Commissioner OP Rawat on the question of how BJP’s IT Cell head Amit Malviya had put dates of Karnataka elections on social media

11:30 AM: The Election Commission has also announced that it will be a single-phase polling. Polling will be held on May 12. Counting will be held on May 15 and results will be announced on the same day.

11:25 AM: Election Commission has announced that notification will be issued on April 17. Last date of filing nomination will be April 24. Scrutiny of nominations will be on April 25. Last date of withdrawing nominations will be on April 27.

11:17 am: Election Commission has assured special arrangements for women. It has said that all-women managed polling booths will also be set up.

11:14 AM: Election Commission will issue voters’ guide. Th poll body has promised “accessible election”.

11:11 AM: Over 4 crore voters will exercise their franchise in the Karnataka Assembly election

11:08 AM: Election Commission will issue Photo voter slip in Karnataka

11:05 AM: Over 59,000 polling stations will be there. The number of polling stations has increased by 9 per cent.

11:00 AM: Election Commission’s press conference has begun.

10:50 AM: In recently held Rajya Sabha election, Congress had managed to win 3 seats. Subsequently, 7 rebel former MLAs of JD(S) who had voted for Congress, joined the ruling party in the state.

10:47 AM: Party President Amit Shah and Chief Minister Siddaramaiah have been reaching out to voters for Congress.

10:42 AM: So far, BJP’s election campaign is headed by party chief Amit Shah and Chief Ministerial candidate BS Yeddyurappa. PM Modi has also addressed rallies.

10:38 AM: It has been learnt that the Karnataka assembly’s tenure ends on May 30, 2018

10:35 AM: In 2013, polling for Karnataka Assembly Elections were held on May 5. Congress had won 122 out of 224 assembly constituencies. Both BJP and Janata Dal (Secular) had managed to win 40 seats each.

BJP, on the other hand, would like to maintain its dream assembly elections run. Both Congress President Rahul Gandhi and BJP Chief Amit Shah have campaigned extensively in this southern state. While BJP is banking on Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s charisma and Shah’s razor-sharp organisational skills to dethrone the ruling party, Congress has taken a few moves, including sending recommendations to Centre for granting religion minority status to influential Lingayat and separate state flag, to reach out to voters in order to retain power.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE and NSE and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.