Karnataka Cabinet ministers list 2018: Full list of ministers in HD Kumaraswamy government and their portfolios

By: |
Updated: July 17, 2018 12:21:11 PM

Karnataka elections: Along with Kumaraswamy, Congress leader G Parmeshwara were sworn-in as the deputy chief minister of the state on May 23.

Karnataka elections: The JD(S), which won 38 seats in the elections is likely to keep lesser portfolios than Congress, which got 78.

Karnataka Cabinet ministers list 2018: Karnataka Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy has allocated the portfolios to the leaders from his party and its ally Congress. Along with JDS and Congress, lone MLA from BSP has also made the cut to the list. The much delayed Cabinet expansion comes almost two weeks after HD Kumaraswamy from JD(S) and G Parameshwara from the Congress had taken oath as chief minister and deputy chief ministers of the state. However, the two parties couldn’t immediately reach a consensus on the issue of cabinet formation in the state. Congress chief Rahul Gandhi’s absence was also cited as a reason for the delay in cabinet expansion. Soon after the oath-taking ceremony, which came up as a show of Opposition unity, Rahul had left the country for his mother Sonia Gandhi’s medical treatment. A series of meetings took place between Kumaraswamy and Congress leaders before they reached a consensus on cabinet formation:

Here’s the full list of ministers in HD Kumaraswamy’s Karnataka cabinet:

HD Kumaraswamy -Janata Dal (S)

1. Chief Minister
2. Cabinet Affairs Department
3. Department of Personnel & Administrative Reforms
4. Department of Finance excluding Excise, Institutional Finance & Small Savings & Lotteries
5. Intelligence Wing from Home Department
6. Information & Public Relations from Kannada & Culture, Information & Public Relations Department
7. Planning & Statistics Department
8. Energy Department
9. Department of Public Enterprises
10. Infrastructure Development Department
11. Textiles from Commerce & Industries Department
12. Finance/Excise
13. Any other Department/Board & Corporations not specifically allocated

G Parameshwara – INC

1. Deputy Chief Minister
2. Home (excluding Intelligence Wing)
3. Bengaluru Development (BBMP, BDA, BWSSB, BMRDA, Directorate of Town Planning from Urban Development Department)
4. Youth Empowerment & Sports Department

HD Revanna -Janata Dal (S)

Public Works Department (excluding Ports and Inland Transport)

Bandeppa Kashempur -Janata Dal (S)


GT Devegowda – Janata Dal (S)

Higher Education from Education Department

N Mahesh -BSP

Primary & Secondary Education

Jarakiholi Ramesh Laxamnrao – Janata Dal (S)

1. Municipalities & Local Bodies (CMCs, TMC & TPs) from Urban Development Department
2. Ports & Inland Transport Development from Public Works Department

SA. RA. Mahesh – Janata Dal (S)

1. Tourism Department
2. Sericulture from Horticulture Department

Managuli Mallapa Channaveerappa – Janata Dal (S)

Horticulture Department excluding Sericulture Department

S.R. Srinivas (Vasu) -Janata Dal (S)

Small Scale Industries from Commerce & Industries Department

D.C. Thammanna- Janata Dal (S)


Venkatarao Nadagouda-Janata Dal (S)

Animal Husbandry & Fisheries Department

KJ George-INC

1. Large & Medium Scale Industries from Commerce & Industries Department including Sugar
2.IT & BT, Science & Technology Department

C.S. Puttaraju – INC

Minor Irrigation & Water Resources Department

R.V. Deshpande -INC

1. Revenue excluding Muzrai
2. Skill Development
Entrepreneurship and Livelihood Department

U.T. Abdul Khader- INC

1. City Corporations excluding BBMP, subjects pertaining to Bengaluru City, Urban Development Authorities excluding subjects pertaining to Bangalore Directorate of Urban Land Transport, KUWS&DB and KUIDFC from Urban Development Department

B.Z. Zameer Ahmed Khan -INC

1. Food & Civil Supplies & Consumer Affairs Department
2. Minority Welfare & Wakf Department
N.H. Shivashankara Reddy Agriculture

C. Puttaranga Shetty

Backward Classes Welfare Department INC

DK Shivakumar-INC

Major and Minor Irrigation from Water Resources Dept
Medical Education

Priyank Kharge – INC

Social Welfare Department

Shivanand Patil-INC

Health & Family Welfare Department excluding Medical Education


Labour Department

Rajshekhar Basavaraj Patil-INC

1. Mines & Geology from Commerce & Industries Department
2. Muzarai from Revenue Department
Hajj/Waqf board and Minority Affairs

Krishna Byre Gowda-INC

1. Rural Development & Panchayat Raj Department
2. Law, Justice and Human Rights Department
3. Parliamentary Affairs & Legislation Department

R. Shankar-Independent

Forest, Ecology & Environmental Department


1. Women & Child development, Empowerment of Differently Abled & Senior Citizens
2. Kannada & Culture from Information & Public Relation Department

(Article first published on May 23, 2018)

Follow financialexpress.com for all news and analysis on the Lok Sabha Elections 2019. Check Lok Sabha election 2019 schedule, Lok Sabha Constituency Details and updates on campaigning by Narendra Modi and Rahul Gandhi. Like us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter.

Switch to Hindi Edition