Karnataka Assembly polls: Siddaramaiah accepts JDS leader HD Kumaraswamy’s challenge, to contest from Chamundeshwari

By: |
Mysuru | March 30, 2018 9:20 AM

Karnataka will go to polls in single-phase on May 12. Counting of votes will take place on May 15. Karnataka is the only big state where the Congress is in power.

Karnataka, Congress, Siddaramaiah, BJPKarnataka CM Siddaramaiah Siddaramaiah will contest the upcoming Assembly polls from Chamundeshwari constituency

Karnataka Chief Minister Siddaramaiah has announced that he will enter the election fray from Chamundeshwari Assembly constituency in Mysuru district. Siddaramaiah currently represents the Varuna constituency in the Legislative Assembly.

“I will win with the blessings of people from Chamundeshwari,” he told reporters here on Thursday when quizzed about JDS state president HD Kumaraswamy’s open challenge to him to contest from the constituency.

Siddaramaiah said that he has successfully contested elections from Chamundeshwari constituency five times. The CM said that he has complete faith in the voters of the constituency and that they will not listen to anyone including Kumaraswamy. “Does Kumaraswamy know how many times I have contested from Chamundeshwari constituency, seven times, I have won five times. Does he know all this?”

Kumaraswamy had earlier claimed that Siddaramaiah was looking for a safe seat to contest this time, like Narasimharaja in Mysuru. He had dared the CM to contest from Chamundeshwari, and predicted that he would lose the battle. He had even reminded Siddaramaiah that during 2006 bypolls, he had won with a margin of 257 votes.

Siddaramaiah had first entered the Assembly in 1983 on a Lok Dal party ticket from Chamundeshwari seat. He has won five times from here and tasted defeat twice.

CM’s son to contest from Varuna?

Meanwhile, if reports are to be believed, the outgoing CM’s son Yatheendra could contest on the Congress party’s ticket from Varuna constituency. The battle here could be one for prestige for both the ruling Congress and the BJP with the latter mulling over fielding its chief ministerial candidate BS Yeddyurappa’s second son BY Vijayendra.

Karnataka will go to polls in a single phase on May 12 while counting of votes will take place on May 15. The tenure of the 224-Chair House expires on May 30.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, Check out latest IPO News, Best Performing IPOs, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.

Next Stories
1‘Sharm aani chahiye’: Asaduddin Owaisi’s strongly-worded warning to men who beat wife, demand dowry — WATCH
2West Bengal Election 2021: TMC turncoat performs sit-ups on stage after return to BJP
3Kerala Election 2021: E Sreedharan declared BJP candidate for post of Chief Minister