JNUSU polls: Voting underway to decide fate of 14 candidates

By: |
Updated: September 6, 2019 10:51:15 AM

Independent candidate Raghavendra Mishra who dresses up in saffron robes and is called Yogi of JNU is also contesting for the post of president.

JNU, JNUSU polls, JNU students union election, JNU election live updates8,700 students are eligible to cast their votes in JNUSU polls.

JNUSU elections: Voting is underway for Jawaharlal Nehru University Students’ Union elections. Total 14 candidates are in the fray for various posts in the students union of the university. Polling is being held through ballot papers and a total of 8,700 students are eligible to

Ahead of the polling, the presidential debate was held at the JNU campus till late on Wednesday amid slogans of ‘Jai Bhim’, ‘Lal Salaam’, ‘Vande Mataram’, some booing and a minor clash.

The event, a sought-after affair, on the lines of the US presidential debates and will be a deciding factor for the union elections.

Also Read: JNU sedition case: Delhi govt rejects request to prosecute Kanhaiya Kumar, others

The United Left, which comprises All India Students’ Association (AISA), Students’ Federation of India (SFI), Democratic Students’ Federation (DSF) and All India Students’ Federation (AISF), will be contesting on all the four posts of president, vice president, general secretary and joint secretary.

The RSS-affiliated Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) has also fielded candidates for all the posts, while the Congress-affiliated National Students’ Union of India (NSUI) has fielded a candidate for the president’s post.

The Birsa Ambedkar Phule Students’ Association (BAPSA) is contesting for posts of president and general secretary, while the Chhatra Rashtriya Janata Dal, students’ wing of the RJD, will be contesting for the posts of president and vice president.

Independent candidate Raghavendra Mishra who dresses up in saffron robes and is called Yogi of JNU is also contesting for the post of president.

The Left alliance has fielded SFI’s Aishe Ghosh as its presidential candidate.

AISA’s Satish Chandra Yadav is contesting the post of JNUSU general secretary in the Left Unity, and DSF’s Saket Moon on VP and AISF’s Mohammad Danish on JS posts.

From ABVP, Manish Jangid is the presidential candidate, Shruti Agnihotri the vice president candidate, Sabareesh PA is in fray for the post of general secretary, while Sumanta Kumar Sahu is contesting for the post of joint secretary.

Jitendra Suna of BAPSA is the presidential candidate and Waseem RS is in contention for the post of general secretary.

Priyanka Bharti is in the fray from Chhatra Rashtriya Janata Dal for the president’s post and Rishipal Yadav, who is visually challenged, is contesting for the post of vice president.

NSUI’s Prashant Kumar is in fray for the president’s post.

Polling will be held in two phases — 9.30 am to 1 pm and 2.30 pm to 5.30 pm. The counting will commence from 9 pm onwards and the results are likely to be declared on Sunday.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE and NSE and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Next Stories
1Delhi man sets his bike on fire after traffic police issued a challan
2Over 22,000 websites hacked in India between April 2017 and January 2018
3This is selective opposition prosecution: Congress on P Chidambaram sent to jail