J&K election results: Omar Abdullah loses from Sonawar seat, wins Beerwah

By: |
Srinagar | Updated: December 23, 2014 2:14:12 PM

Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Omar Abdullah lost from Sonawar Assembly seat...

Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Omar Abdullah today lost from Sonawar Assembly seat of Srinagar district and has won Beerwah Assembly by a margin of over 1000 seats.

The 44-year-old Chief Minister tweeted ahead of declaration of results by the Election Commission, “Congratulations to Ashraf Mir (PDP) for his victory in Sonwar.I wish him & the people all good luck for the next 6 years. He’s now my local MLA.”

Omar was trailing in Beerwah seat by 131 votes.

The National Conference leader began his debut in the state politics with a defeat from Ganderbal Assembly seat in 2002.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE and NSE and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.