Ranchi, Bokaro, Jamshedpur, Dhanbad election dates, schedule announced; results on December 23

By: |
Updated: Nov 01, 2019 6:09 PM

Jharkhand Assembly election dates news: Assembly elections in Jharkhand will be held in five phases starting November 30. Results will be declared on December 23.

jharkhand assembly election, jharkhand election dates, jharkhand electionsDates for Assembly elections in Jharkhand are likely to be announced by the Election Commission today. (File Photo)

Jharkhand election date, schedule: The Election Commission of India has announced Jharkhand Assembly election 2019 dates and schedule. Polling for the 81-seat Jharkhand Assembly will be held in five phases starting November 30. The second phase will be held on December 7 for 20 constituencies. The third phase will be held on December 12, the fourth phase on December 16 and the fifth phase on December 20. The counting of votes will take place on December 23.

Thirteen constituencies will go to the polls in the first phase, 20 in the second phase, 17 in the third, 15 in the fourth phase and 16 constituencies will go to polls in the fifth phase.

In Ranchi, polling for Tamar (ST) and Mandar (ST) seats will be held in Phase-2 on December 7. Voting for Jamshedpur East and Jamshedpur West Assembly seats will also be held in Phase-2.

Jharkhand Assembly election 2019: Hemant Soren says JMM ready to contest with Congress, but conditions apply

Polling for five Assembly seats in Ranchi — Silli, Khijri (ST), Ranchi, Hatia and Kanke (SC) — will be held in Phase-3 on December 12. In the same phase, polling will be held on two seats in Bokaro — Gomia and Bermo. Voting for Gomia and Bermo Assembly constituencies in Bokaro will also be held in Phase-3.

Polling in all six constituencies in Dhanbad district will be held in Phase-4 on December 16. Polling in Bokaro and Chandankiyari Assembly seats in Bokaro district will also be held in this phase.

In the last assembly elections in 2014 also, polling was held in five phases in Jharkhand. The BJP had emerged as the single largest party winning 37 seats and ally All Jharkhand Students Union won 5, helping the saffron party form the government in the state. Hemant Soren’s Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) had won 19 seats, Congress 7 seats.

The term of the outgoing Jharkhand Assembly ends on January 5, 2020.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, Check out latest IPO News, Best Performing IPOs, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.

Next Stories
1Supreme Court not to use WhatsApp groups to share virtual court links for hearings
2Battle for Bengal: Election Commission removes top cop a day after announcing poll dates
3West Bengal Assembly Elections 2021: Single-phase poll if BJP voted to power, says Dilip Ghosh