Dumka and Barhait Election Results: Hemant Soren wins both seats, JMM set to form govt

By: |
Updated: December 23, 2019 7:03:01 pm

Dumka and Barhet Election Result 2019: Hemant Soren, who is Mahagathbandhan's CM face, has thanked Jharkhand voters for giving a clear mandate to the alliance led by his JMM.

Jharkhand assembly elections results, Jharkhand results, Hemant Soren, JMM, BJPJMM working president Hemant Soren has won election from Barhait seat. (ANI Photo)

Dumka and Barhait Assembly Election Result: Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) leader Hemant Soren has won both the Barhait seat and theDumka seat. Talking to reporters in Ranchi, Soren thanked voters for giving a clear mandate to the JMM-led alliance which includes the Congress and RJD.  Soren, who is the Mahagathbandhan’s CM face,  had served as the fifth Chief Minister of Jharkhand between July 2013 and December 2014. As per the seat-sharing agreement, the Congress contested on 31 seats. The Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) on seven seats while the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) was in the fray from 43 seats.

In Dumka, which is also the sub-capital of Jharkhand, Soren beat BJP leader and outgoing Social Welfare Minister Louis Marandi. The seat went to the polls in the last and fifth phase on December 20. In the 2014 Assembly elections, Lois Marandi had won from here by defeating Hemant by a margin of 4,914 votes. The seat is reserved for Scheduled Tribes.

In Barhait, both the BJP and AJSU had pitted their candidates against Hemant Soren. While AJSU had nominated Gamliyel Hembrom, the BJP had fielded Simon Malto. The Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantrik) had fielded Hopnat Tudu. The other candidates in the fray were Bahujan Samaj Party’s (BSP) Baidhnath Pahadiya, Lok Jan Shakti Party’s (LJP) Samuel Kumar Maraiya and TMC’s Sheel Tudu.


Read More

Live Blog

Dumka and Barhait Election Results 2019 Live: Dumka and Barhait Assembly Election Live Coverage


    17:20 (IST)23 Dec 2019
    We will work for everyone irrespective of caste and religion: Hemant Soren

    Today a new chapter will begin for this state. I want to assure everyone that their hopes will not be broken irrespective of their caste, creed, religion and profession, says Hemant Soren who is set to stake claim to form government in Jharkhand.

    17:05 (IST)23 Dec 2019
    Thank voters of Jharkhand: Hemant Soren

    I thank voters of Jharkhand for giving a clear mandate.  We pledge  to work for the people of Jharkhand without any bias, says Hemant Soren


    15:47 (IST)23 Dec 2019
    Hemant Soren gains massive lead on Barhait seat, ahead in Dumka too

    JMM's Hemant Soren is leading from Barhait assembly constituency by margin of 11668 votes and from Dumka seat by 2750 votes.

    12:53 (IST)23 Dec 2019
    Hemant Soren leading on both Dumka, Barhait seats

    JMM's Hemant Soren is leading from Dumka seat by 2463 votes and Barhait by 8616 votes. The JMM-Congress-RJD coalition is headed towards majority in the state as counting of votes continues.

    11:28 (IST)23 Dec 2019
    Barhet Election Result: Hemant Soren takes massive lead over Simon Malto

    JMM's Hemant Soren has taken a huge lead of 5319 votes over BJP's Simon Malto on Barhet Assembly seat. However, Soren is trailing against Louis Marandi on Dumka seat.

    11:16 (IST)23 Dec 2019
    Hemant Soren will be CM: Tejashwi Yadav

    Rashtriya Janata Dal leader Tejashwi Yadav has said that the JMM-Congress-RJD will sweep Jharkhand Assembly elections. "There is going to be a clean sweep for Mahagathbandhan (grand alliance) in this election. We have fought elections under leadership of Hemant Soren. He is going to be the Chief Minister," Yadav said.

    10:02 (IST)23 Dec 2019
    Hemant Soren leading from Barhait seat

    JMM's Hemant Soren is leading from Barhait assembly constituency by 664 votes over BJP's Simon Mahto. Soren contested from Dumka seat as well. 

    09:47 (IST)23 Dec 2019
    Hemant Soren trailing from Dumka

    Jharkhand Mukti Morcha working president Hemant Soren is now trailing from Dumka seat. However, the  JMM  is ahead on  23 seats, Congress on 11 and RJD on 4 seats, latest trends show.  


    09:42 (IST)23 Dec 2019
    Jharkhand Assembly Election Results Live: JMM ahead on 23 seats

    Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) is ahead on 23 seats and its coalition partners Congress and RJD are leading on 12 and four seats respectively as counting for Jharkhand Assembly elections on 81 seats continues. The BJP is leading on 33 seats, latest trends show.

    09:16 (IST)23 Dec 2019
    Hemant Soren leads on Dumka seat

    JMM working president Hemant Soren is leading over state Women and Child Development and Minority Affairs Minister Lois Marandi on Dumka seat after counting of postal ballots.

    09:00 (IST)23 Dec 2019
    Hemant Soren leading from Barhet seat

    JMM working president Hemant Soren is now leading on Barhet seat too. Soren is also in the fray from Dumka seat. He is the chief ministerial candidate of the JMM, Congress, RJD alliance.  

    08:44 (IST)23 Dec 2019
    Jharkhand Election Results: Posters is support of Hemant Soren come up in Ranchi

    Posters have come up in Ranchi in favour of Hemant Soren who is Mahagathbandhan's CM candidate. The JMM working president contested Jharkhand Assembly election from Dumka and Barhet seats. 


    08:40 (IST)23 Dec 2019
    Hemant Soren ahead from Dumka seat

    Mahagathbandhan's CM candidate and JMM's working president Hemant Soren is leading from Dumka seat  as initial trends for Jharkhand Assembly election results have started pouring in.  Soren contested the election from Barhet seat also. 

    08:39 (IST)23 Dec 2019
    Dumka: Hemant Soren leads

    Early trends show Hemant Soren is ahead in Dumka. He is contesting elections against BJP's Louis Marandi. Louis served as the Social Welfare Minister Louis Marandi in the Raghubar Das government.

    Hemant Soren is the son of former Jharkhand CM Shibu Soren. He was a member of Rajya Sabha from 24 June 2009 to 4 January 2010. Hemant Soren is a sitting MLA from Barhait Assembly seat. In the 2014 polls, Hemant had defeated Hemlal Murmu of BJP from here. Hemant got 46.18 per cent of the votes. This seat is also reserved for Scheduled Tribes.
    Next Stories
    1A day after Suvendu’s resignation as minister, speculations rife over his next move
    2Recruitment exam racket busted, 2 Delhi cops among 9 held
    3AG declines consent to initiate contempt against Bhushan, says he expressed regret for tweets on CJI