Hari Nagar election result 2020: Can BJP’s Tajinder Bagga upset popular AAP and Congress candidates?

By: |
February 10, 2020 3:55 PM

Delhi Hari Nagar Assembly Election Result 2020: The BJP has fielded its Delhi unit spokesperson Tajinder Pal Singh Bagga against AAP's Rajkumari Dhillon and Congress' Surinder Setia.

Hari Nagar Election Result 2020, Hari Nagar Delhi Election Result 2020BJP’s Tajinder Pal Singh Bagga in fray from Hari Nagar.

Hari Nagar (Delhi) Election Result 2020: The contest on the Hari Nagar seat, one of the 70 Assembly constituencies, will be one of the most closely watched in Delhi this Assermbly election. The constituency came into existence in 2008 and is a part of the West Delhi Lok Sabha constituency. The Bharatiya Janata Party has fielded its Delhi unit spokesperson Tajinder Pal Singh Bagga from here. He will take on Aam Aadmi Party leader Rajkumari Dhillon who replaces sitting AAP MLA Jagdeep Singh. The Congress has fielded locally known face Surinder Setia.

Bagga, 34, is known for being outspoken. He first shot to limelight in 2011 when he and a group of men allegedly attacked Supreme Court lawyer Prashant Bhushan inside his chamber. Bagga, a native of Delhi, in 2017 distributed and burst fireworks in open defiance against the Supreme Court’s order to impose a ban on crackers in Delhi-NCR.

The AAP, on the other hand, has replaced its two-time MLA Jagdeep Singh with Rajkumari Dhillon. There is an anti-incumbency wave against Singh and therefore, the party replaced its candidate. Dhillon, who is a former Congress councillor from a ward in Hari Nagar, is appreciated by locals for her work. She joined the AAP recently.

Setia, the Congress nominee, is a councillor from a ward in Subhash Nagar.

The constituency has 1,63,708 voters (75,770 female and 87,934 male). It is known for two of its largest voter segments of Sikhs and traders. The constituency was created in 1993 electorate here has consistently voted for the BJP or its ally Shiromani Akali Dal.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, Check out latest IPO News, Best Performing IPOs, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.

Next Stories
1Central Vista: Centre against suspension of work, tells Delhi High Court Covid protocols being strictly adhered
2Twice suspended, Mumbai cop Sachin Waze now dismissed from service  
3PM Modi will not attend G7 summit in person: MEA