Gorakhpur Nagar Nigam Municipal Corporation elections result 2012: Full List of Winners

By: |
Gorakhpur | Updated: December 1, 2017 2:32:37 PM

Gorakhpur Nagar Nigam (Municipal Corporation) Election Result 2017 will be announced on December 1.

gorakhpur nagar nigam result, gorakhpur municipal corporation result, gorakhpur nagar nigam result 2017, gorakhpur municipal corporation result, up civic polls, up civic polls 2017, up nagar nigam election 2012, up civic polls 2017Gorakhpur Nagar Nigam (Municipal Corporation) Election Result 2017 came out today and BJP candidate Sitaram Jaiswal has won.

Gorakhpur Nagar Nigam (Municipal Corporation) Election Result 2017 came out today and BJP candidate Sitaram Jaiswal has won. The election results of Gorakhpur Municipal Corporation assume great significance as it falls under Gorakhpur parliamentary seat from where the current Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath was elected as an MP for five-consecutive terms. In November 5, the ruling BJP had announced mayoral candidates for Kanpur municipal corporation. The announcement was done two days before the last date for filing nominations for the first phase of urban local body polls. In Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath’s hometown of Gorakhpur, BJP has fielded local trader leader Sitaram Jaiswal. Jaiswal has been associated with the party for a long time. Jaiswal also enjoys RSS backing. There were 26 aspirants in fray, including Hindu Yuva Vahini leaders, for the ticket. The seat is reserved for OBCs.

Gorakhpur Nagar Nigam (Municipal Corporation) Result 2017: Full list of winners

This section will be updated on December 1 after the announcement of the result. Meanwhile take a look at the winners in the previous Gorakhpur nagar nigam election in 2012.

Read Also: UP Civic Polls 2017 results LIVE Updates

On November 22, 24 districts in UP went to polls for the municipal elections with voting being held in 4,095 wards over 230 local bodies. As many as 3,731 polling stations and 11, 683 polling booths have been set up for the 1.09 crore eligible voters. The first phase of polling began on November 22. In all the three phases, a combined 3.32 crore voters were eligible to cast their vote at 36, 269 polling booths and 11,389 polling stations. The Bharatiya Janata Party had won a landslide victory in municipal polls in 2012 winning 10 out of 12 mayoral positions. The current Deputy Chief Minister of UP Dinesh Sharma had then won the position of Lucknow mayor.

The Mathura-Vrindavan municipal corporation and Ayodhya municipal corporation (covering Faizabad and Ayodhya) formed under the Adityanath government were also going to polls. For the first phase, polling was held in Meerut, Agra, Kanpur, Ayodhya and Gorakhpur. For the second phase, Ghaziabad, Aligarh, Mathura, Allahabad, Lucknow and Varanasi went to polls and for the third phase, voting was held for Saharanpur, Moradabad, Bareilly, Firozabad and Jhansi.

Samajwadi Party chief and former Uttar Pradesh chief minister Akhilesh Yadav abstained from campaigning rigorously and held a handful of press conferences and meetings before the elections. Akhilesh’s suffered a massive defeat at the hands of BJP in the Assembly election and despite Adityanath jumping into the campaign trail, Akhilesh did not follow.

The Bahujan Samaj Party which contested the municipal polls after over 20 years didn’t see party supremo and former UP CM Mayawati campaign at all. Her party finished third in the Assembly elections and for long had a policy of not contesting local elections. Paper ballots as well as electronic voting machines were used for polls, according to reports. EVMs were employed for voting in 16 municipal corporations while in 438 municipal boards or nagar panchayats and 198 nagar palikas or town areas paper ballots were used.

According to the State Election Commission, the overall polling percentage in the first phase on November 22 stood at 52.59. In 2012, the polling percentage in these districts that went to polls in first phase was 46.1. The highest polling in the first phase was recorded in Hamirpur, which witnessed a 69.59 per cent turnout, followed by Amethi. The second phase of the elections saw an average voter turnout of over 50 per cent. A total of 1.3 crore electors in 25 districts were eligible to exercise their franchise in the second phase. In 2012, the polling percentage in these districts was 43.67.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE and NSE and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Next Stories
1PM Modi hopes for early resumption of Israel-Palestine talks
2Mumbai 26/11 attacks mastermind Hafiz Saeed files petition in UN, seeks removal of his name off terror list
3GES 2017: Ivanka Trump and her graceful attire steal the show at Hyderabad Airport, watch video