‘Ayodhya Cantt’: CM Yogi Adityanath renames Faizabad Railway Junction

By: |
Updated: October 23, 2021 2:38 PM

Faizabad Railway Junction will now be known as 'Ayodhya Cantt' railway station.

CM Yogi Adityanath had changed names of several cities in the past.

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath today said that he has decided to rename Faizabad Railway Junction as ‘Ayodhya Cantt’ railway station. The Chief Minister’s office shared the information on its Twitter handle. “UP CM Shri Yogi Adityanath has decided to rename Faizabad Railway Junction as ‘Ayodhya Cantt’,” said the CMO.

In November 2018, CM Adityanath had announced that Faizabad district will be known as Ayodhya. Three weeks before that, the BJP government in the state had changed the name of Allahabad to Prayagraj. The Yogi government had also renamed Mughalsarai Junction as Pt Deen Dhayal Upadhyay junction.

The State Government had also renamed Allahabad Division as Prayagraj Division. The Allahabad Division has four districts – Allahabad, Kaushambi, Pratapgarh and Fatehpur.

There have been demands to change names of other cities as well including Azamgarh to Aryamgarh, Agra to Agravan and Aligarh to Harigarh etc. Today’s announcement comes months before the assembly polls which will be held early next year.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, Check out latest IPO News, Best Performing IPOs, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.

Next Stories
1National scheme to provide cooked food to the needy in the works
2Centre spent nearly 1,700 crore on ads in print and electronic media in last three years
3UP Elections 2022: SP and RLD announce pact, say people will oust BJP from power