Dhanwar Election Results 2019: Babulal Marandi emerges victorious against Raj Kumar Yadav

By: |
Updated: December 23, 2019 10:06:24 pm

Dhanwar Assembly Election Result: Babulal Marandi is leading by over 7000 votes from Dhanwar constituency. The counting of votes is underway.

Dhanwar Election Result 2019, Dhanwar Assembly Election ResultFormer Jharkhand CM and JVM chief Babulal Marandi. (File Photo/PTI)

Dhanwar Lok Sabha Election Result: Jharkhand Vikas Morcha-Prajatantrik chief and former chief minister Babulal Marandi has won from Dhanwar assembly seat in Giridih district of Jharkhand. He defeated his nearest rival and BJP leader Lakshman Prasad Singh by over 15000 votes. Sitting MLA and CPI leader Raj Kumar Yadav came at a distant third. Marandi got over 50742 votes while Yadav the saffron party leader got over 30000 votes.

This is the second time the JVM-P chief was contesting from Dhanwar. In 2014, Marandi had lost this constituency to Rajkumar Yadav by over 10,000 votes. Before losing to Yadav, JVM-P had held this seat from 2009 to 2014.  Three-time parliamentarian, Marandi is an experienced politician who had a long association with the BJP. He has also served as Union Minister of State for Forest and Environment in the BJP-led NDA government from 1998-2000. Marandi began his political career with the saffron party in 1991. The BJP fielded him in the same year from Dumka Lok Sabha seat but he lost. Five years later, he was pitted against Jharkhand Mukti Morcha chief Shibu Soren. He lost this election too but his defeat margin was under 5000 votes.

Despite this defeat, the BJP made him the state president and fielded him again against Soren in the 1998 general election. Springing a surprise, Marandi defeated the JMM chief creating a place for himself in the saffron party. After the formation of Jharkhand in 2000, the saffron party came to power with Maranadi taking charge as the first chief minister of the state.

Read More

Live Blog

Dhanwar Election Result 2019 Live: Dhanwar Assembly Seat Result 2019 Live Coverage


    17:52 (IST)23 Dec 2019
    Babulal Marandi maintains huge lead in Dhanwar 

    Former CM Babulal Marandi is maintaining a huge lead in Dhanwar. He has got 44163 votes while his challenger has secured just 20691 votes. The BJP candidate is at the distant third. The counting of votes is still underway. 

    15:59 (IST)23 Dec 2019
    BJP at distant third in Dhanwar

    BJP candidate Lakshman Prasad Singh is doing very badly in Dhanwar. He has got just 8701 votes with just a 10% vote share. Former CM Babulal Marandi set to wrest the Dhanwar assembly seat from sitting MLA Raj Kumar Yadav. Marandi is leading by over 22000 votes.

    15:23 (IST)23 Dec 2019
    Babulal Marandi takes unassailable lead in Dhanwar

    Jharkhand Vikas Morcha-Prajatantrik chief and former chief minister Babulal Marandi is leading by over  21000 votes, as per the latest trends. Marandi is up against sitting legislator and CPI leader Raj Kumar Yadav and Lakshman Prasad Singh of the BJP. As per the latest updates, Marandi has got 36586 votes while Yadav has secured just 15671.

    14:32 (IST)23 Dec 2019
    Babulal Marandi takes massive lead in Dhanwar

    CM and JVM(P) chief Babulal Marandi is now leading on Dhanwar seat by over 18000 votes. His nearest rival and sitting legislator Rajkumar Yadav has secured just 11538 votes while Marandi has got over 30000 votes.

    14:11 (IST)23 Dec 2019
    Babulal Marandi takes huge lead in Dhanwar

    Former CM Babulal Marandi has now taken a huge lead in Dhanwar. He has got 25417 votes whereas his nearest rival Raj Kumar Yadav has got 10745. Raj Kumar Yadav is sitting legislator from Dhanwar. 

    13:39 (IST)23 Dec 2019
    Jharkhand Election Results: Babulal Marandi leading in Dhanwar

    Former Jharkhand CM and JVM(P) chief Babulal Marandi leading from Dhanwar seat by over 9000 votes. He has got 20162 votes while his nearest rival Raj Kumar Yadav has got 9910. 

    12:55 (IST)23 Dec 2019
    Jharkhand Election Result 2019 LIVE: Latest numbers from Election Commission

    As per official Election Commission trends, the BJP is currently leading on 29 seats and Congress-JMM-RJD alliance on 42 seats (JMM 25, Congress 12 and RJD 5). Babulal Marandi has got 16541 votes while his nearest rival Raj Kumar Yadav has secured 7125 votes. Counting is underway. 

    12:09 (IST)23 Dec 2019
    Babubal Marandi maintains early leads

    Jharkhand Vikas Morcha-Prajatantrik chief and former chief minister Babulal Marandi is leading from Dhanwar assembly seat bu over 7000 votes. 

    As per the latest inputs, the current numbers are:  

    Babubal Marandi: 13003Raj Kumar Yadav: 5347

    10:56 (IST)23 Dec 2019
    Babulal Marandi keeps cards close to chest

    JVMP chief Babulal Marandi keeping his options open. Marandi, who is leading from Dhankar seat by over 2000 votes said his party will wait for the final results to come. "The results are not as per our expectation. We will have to accept people's mandate. We will play the role which people's mandate has given us. Let the results come, then we will sit and discuss what to do," Marandi said.

    10:50 (IST)23 Dec 2019
    Jharkhand Assembly Election Result LIVE: JVMP leading on 4 seats

    JVMP is leading on 4 seats and AJSU on three seats as trends for all 81 seats of Jharkhand Assembly election have started pouring in.  A party or coalition needs  41 seats for a simple majority in the 81-seat  Jharkhand Assembly. 

    10:20 (IST)23 Dec 2019
    Babulal Marandi leading by over 2000 votes

    Former CM and JVMP president Babulal Marandi is leading by 2841 votes from Dhanwar seat. CPI (ML)'s Raj Kumar Yadav is trailing. 


    10:00 (IST)23 Dec 2019
    Jharkhand Election Results LIVE: Babulal Marandi leading on Dhanwar seat

    Jharkhand Vikas Morcha-Prajatantrik chief and former CM Babulal Marandi is leading on Dhanwar seat as per the latest trends. Jharkhand seems to be heading to a hung Assembly as none of the parties are near the half-way mark of 41.  As per the latest trends, the BJP is ahead on 29 seats, JMM on 25, Congress 11 and RJD 4 seats.  

    09:56 (IST)23 Dec 2019
    Jharkhand Election Results LIVE: JVMP leading on 3 seats

    Jharkhand Vikas Morcha-Prajatantrik is leading on three seats as counting of votes for Jharkhand Assembly elections continue. A  party needs 41 seats in the 81-member Jharkhand Assembly for a comfortable majority. 

    08:26 (IST)23 Dec 2019
    Dhanwar election results: Babulal Marandi hoping to wrest back seat

    Former CM and Jharkhand Vikas Morcha-Prajatantrik chief  Babulal Marandi, who lost Dhanwar seat in 2014, is eyeing to win the constituency this time. Jharkhand Vikas Morcha-Prajatantrik has held this seat for a long time from 2009 to 2014.

    In 2006, Marandi quit the BJP to form his own political outfit Jharkhand Vikas Morcha-Prajatantrik. Dhanwar, which is part of Koderma Lok Sabha constituency, went to the polls on December 12.
    Next Stories
    1A day after Suvendu’s resignation as minister, speculations rife over his next move
    2Recruitment exam racket busted, 2 Delhi cops among 9 held
    3AG declines consent to initiate contempt against Bhushan, says he expressed regret for tweets on CJI