Devendra Fadnavis thanks Uddhav Thackeray after being elected Maharashtra BJP legislature party leader

By: |
Updated: Oct 30, 2019 3:49 PM

Fadnavis thanked Shiv Sena president Uddhav Thackeray and said it is because of his support that the alliance is all set to form the government.

Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis (ANI)

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Devendra Fadnavis has been re-elected as the Maharashtra BJP legislature party leader at the party legislature meeting on Wednesday. Fadnavis thanked Shiv Sena president Uddhav Thackeray and said it is because of his support that the alliance is all set to form the government.

With Fadnavis’ election, decks are cleared for his second term as the Maharashtra Chief Minister. A turban-clad Fadnavis also thanked party MLAs for reposing faith in him and giving him another chance to serve the state. He claimed that the BJP-Shiv Sena will form the next government in the state.

Also Read | Maharashtra standoff: As Shiv Sena plays hardball, Praful Patel says NCP’s mandate to sit in opposition

Speaking after being re-elected, Fadnavis said that the BJP and the Shiv Sena will iron out their differences. He stated that the mandate was for BJP-Sena government and ruled out any possibility of going alone and forming a minority government. “This mandate is surely for ‘Mahayuti’ (BJP-Shiv Sena alliance) as we sought votes for ‘Mahayuti’. People also voted for it. So there should not be any doubt. It will be a ‘Mahayuti’ government,” the outgoing Maharashtra CM said.

All the 105 newly-elected BJP MLAs from Maharashtra were present at the meeting, where Union minister Narendra Singh Tomar and party vice president Avinash Rai Khanna were present as central observers. Tomar said that no other name was proposed at Maharashtra BJP legislature party meet.

Also Read | Maharashtra stalemate: Amit Shah cancels Mumbai visit after Shiv Sena raises pitch for 50-50 formula

The meeting came in the backdrop of the power-sharing tussle between the BJP and Shiv Sena after results of the October 21 Maharashtra Assembly elections were declared on October 24. The Sena is insisting that the BJP should honour the ’50-50 formula’ of power sharing, which would translate into rotational chief ministership between both parties for 2.5 years each. The Sena has claimed that the ’50-50 formula’ was agreed upon between BJP president Amit Shah, Fadnavis and Uddhav Thackeray ahead of the Lok Sabha elections this year.

However, the BJP has made clear that there was no promise made to Shiv Sena with regard to the CM’s post. The Sena won 56 seats, NCP 54 and Congress 44 in the 288-member House.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.

Next Stories
1Centre released over Rs 3,024 crore under Nirbhaya fund to states/UTs: WCD ministry
2‘Charity begins at home’: Bill to slash MPs’ salaries by 30% clears Parliament test
3Karnataka: BS Yediyurappa brushes aside speculation of JD(S) joining BJP govt