Delhi Assembly elections: 6 women win; Alka Lamba takes Chandni Chowk

By: |
New Delhi | Published: February 10, 2015 7:37:48 PM

The move from Congress to Arvind Kejriwal's Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) went very well for Alka Lamba.

alka lamba, alka lamba aap, alka lamba chandni chowk, arvind kejriwal, aam aadmi partyAam Aadmi Party (AAP) women workers celebrate the party’s landslide victory in Delhi state assembly elections, in Nagpur, Maharashtra on Tuesday. PTI

Six women leaders have managed to secure a place in the 70-member Delhi Assembly, a meagre eight per cent even as fairer sex accounts for almost 45 per cent of the population in the national capital – the move from Congress to Arvind Kejriwal’s Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) went very well for Alka Lamba.

While as many as 66 women candidates were in fray, all the six winners, who have made it to the Assembly, belong to the Aam Aadmi Party. They are Rakhi Birla, Bandna Kumari, Saritha Singh, Alka Lambha, Pramila Tokas and Bhavna Gaur.

Interestingly, the three women candidates elected to the Delhi Assembly in 2013 polls were also from AAP -Birla, Bandana Kumari and Veena Anand.
Take the opinion poll, tell us what you think:

Birla, who was the Cabinet minister for Women and Child, Social Welfare and Languages in Delhi during AAP’s 49-day regime, contested from Mangol Puri constituency in West Delhi and defeated Congress’ Raj Kumar Chauhan by 22,699 votes.

Elected as an MLA from the Shalimar Bagh constituency in the 2013 Assembly polls, Bandana Kumari emerged victorious by defeating another woman candidate, BJP’s Rekha Gupta.

Alka Lamba, a former leader of Congress-affiliated National Students Union of India (NSUI) who had joined AAP in 2013, won from Chandni Chowk constituency, defeating yet another women candidate of BJP, Suman Kumar Gupta, by more than 18,000 votes.

Another women who emerged victorious was Parmila Tokas, an independent municipal councillor. She was fielded from RK Puram constituency, where the party had pitted Shazia Ilmi in the last elections. Ilmi left AAP last year and ultimately joined hands with BJP just before the Delhi elections.

AAP’s student wing president Sarita Singh won from the Rohtash Nagar Assembly constituency with a margin of 7,874 votes.

Bhawna Gaur, who contested from Palam constituency in South-West Delhi, defeated BJP’s Dhram Dev Solanki by 30,849 votes.

While women safety, which is a key concern in the national capital, featured widely in various parties’ poll manifestos, when it came to fielding women candidates, the they did not opt for them.

A total of 19 women candidates were fielded by three major political parties in the contest -AAP, BJP and Congress.

BJP had given tickets to maximum number of seven women candidates including its Chief Ministerial nominee Kiran Bedi, former Congress leader Krishna Tirath and youth face Nupur Sharma.

All the six women candidates of AAP emerged victorius.

The least number of women candidates was fielded by the Congress which had given tickets to just five.

The prominent names in the list included Kiran Walia who was contesting from New Delhi Assembly seat against Arvind Kejriwal and President Pranab Mukherjee’s daughter Sharmishta Mukherjee from Greater Kailash constituency.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE and NSE and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Next Stories
1Arvind Kejriwal thanks wife Sunita for ‘always being there’ after AAP’s thumping victory vs BJP
2Aam Aadmi Party thrashes BJP, ‘happy’ Anna Hazare attacks Narendra Modi over ‘industrialists’
3After massive AAP poll triumph, was Delhi’s vote cast against BJP’s Narendra Modi or Kiran Bedi?