Exit polls: Arvind Kerjriwal’s Aam Aadmi Party set to get majority, PM Narendra Modi’s BJP stares possible defeat in Delhi

All the exit polls have predicted a majority for the Aam Aadmi Party in the Delhi Assembly elections…

Arvind Kejriwal, Aam Aadmi Party, AAP, Bharatiya Janata Party, BJP, Narendra Modi, Delhi exit polls, AAP majority, Delhi elections exit polls

Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) appears set for a sweeping victory in the Delhi Assembly elections for which voting took place, according to exit polls.

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) was projected to be the second largest party way behind AAP. Congress could be virtually wiped out, the polls shown on television channels said.

India Today-Cicero poll after the end of polling gave AAP 38 to 46 seats in the 70-member House and BJP 19 to 27 while Congress is predicted to get between three and five.

Today’s Chanakya poll on News 24 channel gave AAP a higher figure of 48 seats and 22 to BJP. The poll says Congress and allies may fail to open account.

Another poll on News Nation projected 41 to 45 seats for AAP, 23 to 27 for BJP and 1 to 3 for Congress.

Aam Aadmi Party Chief Arvind Kejriwal thanked his volunteers praising their work and asked them to relax for 2 days in a tweet.


After meeting with Delhi BJP president Satish Upadhaya today, Bedi said in a tweet that God willing, the exit polls would be proven wrong.

In the 2013 elections, AAP had got 28 seats and had to to tie up with Congress’ 8 to form a short-lived government of 49 days in the 2013 polls.

The BJP had then emerged the single largest with 32 seats.

The ABP-Nielsen poll said that AAP will get 39 while BJP 28 and Congress 3.

Zee TV-C Voter poll projected 31 to 39 seats for AAP and 27 to 35 seats for BJP. Congress gets 2 to 4 in the poll.

The highest number of 53 seats for AAP has been predicted by India News-Axis poll, which gave BJP 17 and Congress upto 2.

The India TV’s exit poll put AAP in the top with 31 to 39 seats. BJP 27 to 35 and Congress 2 to 4.

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has rolled out both PM Narendra Modi as well as Kiran Bedi against Aam Aadmi Party's (AAP) Arvind Kejriwal. Express Photo
BJP has rolled out both PM Narendra Modi as well as Kiran Bedi against AAP’s Arvind Kejriwal. (Express Photo)

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, Check out latest IPO News, Best Performing IPOs, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express Telegram Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.