Chitrakoot Assembly bypoll result out! Congress defeats BJP by huge margin, taunts with tweet ‘won in Ram Ki Nagri’

By: |
November 12, 2017 4:01 PM

Congress candidate Nilanshu Chaturvedi defeated his nearest BJP rival Shankar Dayal Tripathi by a huge margin of 14,133 votes.

chitrakoot election result 2017, chitrakoot by election result, chitrakoot bypoll, Chitrakoot bypoll result, Chitrakoot assembly bypoll election result, Chitrakoot Assembly bypoll result, chitrakoot bypoll result, chitrakoot bypoll counting, chitrakoot, madhya pradesh, Nilanshu Chaturvedi, Shankar Dayal TripathiBig electoral victory for Congress. (Photo from Twitter)

In a big electoral victory in the state of Madhya Pradesh, the Congress on Sunday won the Chitrakoot Assembly bypoll in the state. The grand old party clinched the seat as its candidate Nilanshu Chaturvedi defeated his nearest BJP rival Shankar Dayal Tripathi by a huge margin of 14,133 votes. While Nilanshu Chaturvedi polled 66,810 votes, Shankar Dayal Tripathi got 52,677 votes, as per returning officer AP Dwivedi. Elated over the victory, Madhya Pradesh Congress tweeted a congratulatory message for its partymen. Also, the state Congress unit thanked the people of Chitrakoot for choosing Congress. “Congress won in Ram Ki Nagri,”the party tweeted. The counting of votes polled in the November 9 by-election began at around 8 am amid tight security in Satna district, around 400km from Bhopal. Though 12 candidates contested the by-election, the fight was on between Congress leader Nilanshu Chaturvedi and BJP’s Shankar Dayal Tripathi.

Around 65 per cent voting was recorded in the bypoll necessitated following the death of sitting Congress MLA Prem Singh (65). Singh had won the assembly constituency, bordering Uttar Pradesh, in the 1998, 2003 and 2013 elections. However, he had lost the seat to BJP’s Surendra Singh Gaharwar in the 2008 polls.

The victory for Congress comes close on the heels of crucial Gujarat and Himachal Pradesh Assembly elections where it’s facing a tough competition from its rival BJP.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.

Next Stories
1PM Modi pays tributes to Keshubhai, film artists Kanodia brothers
2New Format of ITR-V: Know how advantageous, disadvantageous it’s for you
3India stands with France in fight against terrorism: PM Modi