Chandni Chowk Election Result 2020 Highlights: Alka Lamba trails by over 12,000 votes against AAP candidate

By: |
Updated: February 13, 2020 9:36:01 am

Chandni Chowk (Alka Lamba) Election Result 2020: Alka Lamba, who had won Chandni Chowk seat in 2015 as AAP candidate, is trailing from the constituency against AAP's Parlad Singh Sawhney.

Chandni Chowk ELection Result, Chandni Chowk Election Result, Alka Lamba result Alka Lamba had won 2015 Assembly election from Chandni Chowk as AAP candidate. (File photo)

Alka Lamba Assembly Election Result 2020: Congress candidate Alka Lamba is trailing by over 12,000 votes from Chandni Chowk seat which is one of the most keenly watched constituencies as counting of votes for Delhi Assembly election 2020 is underway. Congress candidate Alka Lamba, who had won the 2015 election from the seat as Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) candidate, is trailing behind Aam Aadmi Party’s Parlad Singh Sawhney.  The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) had fielded Suman Kumar Gupta from the constituency. In 2015 Assembly election, Lamba had defeated Suman Kumar Gupta comprehensively by over 18,000 votes. Lamba had joined the Congress in October 2019 after openly revolting against the AAP leadership. Her relationship with team Kejriwal soured particularly after she protested and refused to support a resolution in the Delhi Assembly in 2018 which sought to withdraw the Bharat Ratna awarded to former PM Rajiv Gandhi over the 1984 anti-Sikh riots. Alka Lamba has spent close to 20 years with the Congress before she joined the Aam Aadmi Party in 2014.

Delhi Assembly Election Results 2020: LIVE UPDATES

Live Blog

Chandni Chowk Election Result 2020: Chandni Chowk Delhi Assembly Election Result 2020


    12:17 (IST)11 Feb 2020
    Chandni Chowk Result LIVE: AAP candidate extends lead over Alka Lamba

    Alka Lamba is trailing by over 12,000 votes against Aam Aadmi Party's Parlad Singh Sawhney from Chandni Chowk seat.  Lamb  had won the seat on AAP ticket in 2015. She joined the Congress in October 2019 after a fallout with AAP leadership.

    09:23 (IST)11 Feb 2020
    Delhi Assembly Election 2020 Results: Alka Lamba trailing

    Congress candidate Alka Lamba is trailing from Chandni Chowk seat. Lamba had won the seat in 2015 as an Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) candidate. Meanwhile, AAP appears set to form government in Delhi for the second straight term as the party has taken comprehensive lead in the early trends. 

    Next Stories
    1Ashok Gehlot seeks CBI, ED raids against Union Minister Gajendra Shekhawat
    2ED questions Sushant Singh Rajput’s CA
    3Wonder why Home Minister Amit Shah chose not to go to AIIMS: Shashi Tharoor