Cabinet Reshuffle: Reports say PM Modi to induct nine new ministers; from Hardeep Singh Puri to Gajendra Singh Shekhawat, here are all who may take oath tomorrow

By: |
New Delhi | September 2, 2017 10:03 PM

Cabinet Reshuffle: PM Modi held discussions with BJP chief Amit Shah late in the evening to give finishing touches to the exercise.

cabinet reshuffle, Narendra Modi, modi cabinet reshuffle, pm narendra modi, modi cabinet reshuffle, modi council minister, nda ministers, liss of news ministerCabinet Reshuffle: PM Modi held discussions with BJP chief Amit Shah late in the evening to give finishing touches to the exercise. (PTI)

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will induct 9 new faces in an union cabinet reshuffle scheduled for Sunday, Press Trust of India reported citing sources. As per various news agencies, Ashwini Kumar Choubey, Shiv Paratap Shukla, Virendra Kumar, Anantkumar Hegde, Raj Kumar Singh, Hardeep Singh Puri, Gajendra Singh Shekhawat, Satya Pal Singh, and Alphons Kannanthanam will take oath tomorrow.  Earlier in the day, PM Modi held discussions with BJP chief Amit Shah to give finishing touches to the exercise. Road Transport Minister Nitin Gadkari also met PM Modi. However as per IANS, Gadkari refused to comment on speculation that he was being shifted to railways, saying it was the Prime Minister’s prerogative to induct and drop ministers.

Earlier, PTI sources confirmed that Cabinet reshuffle would take place on Sunday morning at 10 am. Ahead of the recast, a number of ministers have already resigned from their posts making way for the new faces. So far, Rajiv Pratap Rudy, Sanjeev Baliyan, Faggan Singh Kulaste, Bandaru Dattatreya and Mahendra Nath Pandey have quit their posts in council of ministers, as per PTI. As per reports, two cabinet ministers, Uma Bharti and Kalraj Mishra, have also offered to resign. Sunday’s reshuffle will be prime minister’s third and probably last major recasting of his council of ministers before the next Lok Sabha polls in 2019. “A process has been set in motion for the swearing-in ceremony at Rashtrapati Bhavan at around 10 am on Sunday,” a top government official was quoted as saying by Press Trust of India.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, Check out latest IPO News, Best Performing IPOs, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.

Next Stories
1Freedom House Report: Centre fires point-wise rebuttal after global watchdog downgrades India to ‘partly free’
2West Bengal Elections: ECI says remove PM Modi’s photo from Covid vaccination certificate
3Six injured in bomb blast in Bengal