By election results 2020 Live: BJP leads in Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Gujarat, Karnataka bypolls

By: |
Updated: November 10, 2020 2:41 PM

State Assembly by-election results 2020 Live Updates: Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Nagaland, Uttar Pradesh, Jharkhand, Telangana, Gujarat and Odisha.

Bypoll result 2020 live updatesBypoll result 2020 live updates

By-election results 2020 Live Updates: It is advantage BJP today. BJP is leading in more than 40 seats of assembly by-elections in 59 constituencies across 11 states, including Madhya Pradesh where it is ahead in 21 seats, according to the Election Commission website. BJP is also ahead in all the eight seats in Gujarat for which by-elections were held and six in Uttar Pradesh, where seven assembly constituencies went to the polls in the first pan-India electoral exercise since the pandemic. Counting for the voting of bypolls held on November 3 started at 8 am and progressed in accordance with the Election Commission’s guidelines restricting the number of people in counting halls, officials said. Extensive measures were taken to ensure social distancing. Votes were also counted for by-elections in Manipur (five seats), Haryana (one), Chhattisgarh (one), Jharkhand (two), Karnataka (two), Nagaland (two), Odisha (two) and Telangana (one).

Here are updates for bypolls in Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Nagaland, Uttar Pradesh, Jharkhand, Telangana, Gujarat, Karnataka and Odisha. Check state-wise bypoll updates below:

READ | Bihar Election Result Live Updates

Haryana bypolls result 2020

Congress’ Indu Raj Narwal was ahead in the Baroda seat that had fallen vacant following the death of Krishan Hooda, who had won it in 2009, 2014 and 2019 assembly polls. Narwal was leading over his nearest rival and BJP nominee, Olympian wrestler Yogeshwar Dutt.

Nagaland by-election result 2020

Independent candidates were leading in the two assembly seats – Southern Angami-I in Kohima and Pungro-Kiphire in Kiphire district. The elections were necessitated following the deaths of the sitting legislators Vikho-o Yhoshu and T Torechu.

Chhattisgarh bypoll result 2020

The state’s ruling Congress was ahead in the by-election to the Marwahi seat that was necessitated due to the death of Janata Congress Chhattisgarh (J) MLA and former chief minister Ajit Jogi.

Jharkhand by-elections result 2020

The BJP was ahead in one seat and the Congress in the other. BJP’s Lois Marandi was leading in Dumka over Basant Soren, Chief Minister Hemant Soren’s brother. In Bermo, Congress nominee Anup Singh was ahead of BJP’s Yogeshwar Mahato

Telangana by-election result 2020

The BJP was leading in the Dubbak Assembly constituency, which witnessed a three-cornered contest between the ruling TRS and opposition BJP and Congress. The bypolls were called due to the death of sitting TRS MLA Solipeta Ramalinga Reddy in August this year. His widow Solipeta Sujatha was the ruling party’s choice.

Karnataka by-election result 2020

Counting is undergoing for the by-poll to Sira Assembly constituency.

Madhya Pradesh by-election results 2020

It’s a high-stakes electoral battle, particularly in Madhya Pradesh where the BJP-led Shivraj Singh Chouhan government is locked in a fierce contest with the Congress to save its government. The BJP was ahead in 21 seats, the Congress in six and the BSP in one, according to Election Commission trends. Elections were held for 28 seats, the first time that so many by-elections were held together. The BJP which has 107 MLAs in the assembly, with an effective strength of 229, needs at least eight more MLAs for a simple majority. It is a crucial test for Jyotiraditya Scindia, who quit the Congress with his loyalist MLAs to join the BJP, toppling the Congress-led Kamal Nath government. Elsewhere, the leads for the BJP varied from a little over 300 (Dabra) to more than 17,000 (Badnawar).

ALSO READ | Madhya Pradesh byelection results live updates here

Gujarat By-Election Results 2020

The BJP held sway over the party-ruled state with leads in all eight seats and the Congress trailing. A total of 60.75 per cent voter turnout was recorded in the bypolls held in Abdasa (Kutch), Limbdi (Surendranagar), Morbi (Morbi district), Dhari (Amreli), Gadhada (Botad), Karjan (Vadodara), Dang (Dang district) and Kaprada (Valsad).

Uttar Pradesh By Election Results 2020

Of the seven seats, the ruling BJP was ahead in six and the Samajwadi Party in one. Eighty-eight candidates contested in the Naugaon Sadat, Tundla, Bangarmau, Bulandshahr, Deoria, Ghatampur and Malhani seats. Barring Malhani, which was with the SP, the other seats were in the ruling BJP’s kitty. SP chief Akhilesh Yadav alleged on Monday that the BJP was involved in “rigging”.

Odisha By Election Results 2020

The state’s ruling Biju Janata Dal was ahead in both the Balasore and Tirtol seats for which by-elections were held. While state BJP general secretary Prithviraj Harichandan had claimed his party will win both as voters were “fed up with the ruling party”, BJD leader DP Mishra said people voted as they are keen to see speedy development in their areas.

Manipur bypolls result 2020

According to Election Commission trends, the BJP had won two seats and was leading in two with an Independent ahead in one. The by-elections were necessitated by Congress MLAs in four seats resigning from the Assembly and quitting the party to join the BJP.

(With agency inputs)

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, Check out latest IPO News, Best Performing IPOs, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.

Next Stories
1Congress still alive in Karnataka! DK Shivakumar settles leadership debate, says in no hurry for CM’s post
2‘Modi hai, Miracle hai’: P Chidambaram’s jibe at Centre over record single-day vaccination on June 21
3Nirav Modi’s extradition plea rejected by UK High Court, has 5 days to appeal for oral hearing