1. BJP-Shiv Sena rule in Maharashtra after 15 years; 20 ministers inducted

BJP-Shiv Sena rule in Maharashtra after 15 years; 20 ministers inducted

BJP and Shiv Sena are ruling Maharashtra once again after 15 years with the induction of ten ministers from Shiv Sena...

By: | Mumbai | Published: December 5, 2014 9:37 PM

Shiv Sena has now formally joined Devendra Fadnavis-led BJP government.

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Shiv Sena are ruling Maharashtra once again after 15 years with the induction of ten ministers from Shiv Sena in the 35-day old Devendra Fadnavis-led government in Maharashtra this afternoon.

Sena’s joining the BJP government now is unique, because this is the first time a party sitting in the opposition — albeit for a short duration — is switching the sides.

Governor Ch Vidyasagar Rao administered the oath of office to 20 ministers, including 10 from BJP. Ten cabinet ministers, five each from BJP and Sena, were sworn in.

Cabinet ministers who took the oath were Girish Bapat (BJP), Girish Mahajan (BJP), Diwakar Raote (Shiv Sena), Subhash Desai (SS), Ramdas Kadam (SS), Eknath Shinde (SS), Chandrashekhar Bawankule (BJP), Babanrao Lonikar (BJP), Dr Deepak Sawant (SS) and Rajkumar Badole (BJP).

Ministers of state sworn in were Ram Shinde (BJP), Vijay Deshmukh (BJP), Sanjay Rathod (Shiv Sena), Dada Bhuse (SS), Vijay Shivtare (SS), Deepak Kesarkar (SS), Raje Amrish Atram (BJP), Ravindra Waikar (SS), Dr Ranjit Patil (BJP) and Pravin Pote (BJP).

Two more Sena ministers are expected to take oath during the next cabinet expansion, possibly after the winter session of the state legislature.

When Fadnavis was sworn in as the Chief Minister on October 31, nine other ministers, all from BJP, took oath. No Sena minister was sworn in then, as talks between the two parties, which had contested the Assembly polls separately, were inconclusive.

NCP had offered “unsolicited” outside support to the BJP government, which won a trust vote earlier this month.

Sena president Uddhav Thackeray and his family members were present today to witness his partymen, who were wearing saffron phetas (turbans), being sworn in.

RPI leader Ramdas Athawale and Shivsangram leader Vinayak Mete, whose parties were BJP’s pre-poll allies, were also present. However, no one from these two parties was sworn in.

Congress and NCP leaders, who had attended the October 31 ceremony, were conspicuous by their absence.

The last time BJP and Sena were in power was during 1995-99 when it was the Sena which was in the role of ‘big brother’ and had the Chief Minister’s post while BJP had Deputy Chief Minister’s post.

This time, the roles have been reversed; however Sena does not even have the solace of having one of its leaders as Deputy Chief Minister as Fadnavis yesterday said the ministry won’t have this post.

Announcing the formation of a ‘yuti’ (alliance) government here yesterday, Fadnavis, flanked by senior Sena leaders, said the two parties had decided to run the government in alliance “to honour the sentiment of the people who want to see the Sena and BJP work together for Maharashtra”.

After the 25-year-old Sena-BJP alliance broke up just before the October elections, Sena consciously targeted its former ally during the election campaign.

With BJP failing to achieve a simple majority in the elections and Sena getting nowhere close to the number needed to form the government, revival of the alliance became imperative for both.

PIL challenges Shiv Sena move to join BJP Government in Maharashtra

A day when Shiv Sena formally joined the BJP Government in Maharashtra, a public interest litigation (PIL) was filed in the Bombay High Court challenging the saffron party’s “illegal” move.

Shiv Sena, which until yesterday was main Opposition party in Maharashtra Assembly, today became part of the BJP- led Government in the State. Ten Sena legislators joined the Council of Ministers headed by Devendra Fadnavis.

The Sena’s move was against the House rules as members of an Opposition party cannot switch over to the treasury benches at least for six months after a trust vote is won, contended the PIL, filed by activist Ketan Tirodkar.

The PIL was mentioned by the petitioner before a Bench headed by Chief Justice Mohit Shah, who decided to hear it on December 8.

The PIL prayed Assembly Speaker Haribhau Bagde and Chief Minister Fadnavis be directed to frame rules to prevent Sena MLA Eknath Shinde, Leader of Opposition till yesterday, from taking up Ministerial post for a period of six months.

The petition also sought a direction from the court to the respondents to bar the Opposition members from joining the ruling benches for a period of six months.

Last month, the BJP Government won confidence motion by a voice vote in the Assembly. At that time Shinde was Leader of Opposition. The Sena has now joined the Government. This step was “not legal”, the petitioner contended.

Once a trust motion was passed in the Assembly, the Government was not required to prove its majority again for a period of six months, according to rules. Hence, a no-trust motion cannot be brought within six months from the date of earlier motion (November 12), said the petition.

The PIL said the ruling party cannot be unseated within the next six months. Similarly, an Opposition party can’t change its status within the same period and switch over to the treasury benches, and that too for the sake of Cabinet berths.

Meanwhile, a single Bench of the HC today declined to hear another petition, also filed by Tirodkar, challenging the Assembly Speaker’s decision to go in for a voice vote instead of a division of votes (head count) during the trust motion.

“Not before me”, said Justice Vijaya Tahilramani. The petition would now come up for hearing on December 8 before the Bench headed by Chief Justice Shah.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE and NSE and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Go to Top