BJP not to celebrate massive MCD ‘victory’ due to Sukma Maoist attack

By: | Updated: April 26, 2017 9:46 AM

MCD Election Results 2017: Early leads have shown that the BJP is heading towards a massive victory in Delhi

mcd election results trend, mcd election results 2017, mcd election result 2017, mcd result 2017, mcd elections result 2017, mcd election 2017 result, mcd elections 2017 result, mcd poll, mcd election, aap, bjp, congress, sukma attack, bjp not to celebrate sukma attack, sukma attack detailsMCD Election Results 2017: Early leads have shown that the BJP is heading towards a massive victory in Delhi

Even as early leads have shown that the BJP is heading towards a massive victory in Delhi MCD elections 2017, the saffron party has asked its supporters and activists not to celebrate the expected victory, according to an India Today report.

The decision was taken in view of the deadly Sukma Maoist attack in which 25 CRPF were martyred on Monday, the report said. “We won’t celebrate because of Sukma attack,” Delhi BJP chief Manoj Tiwari told India Today. Counting of MCD election votes started on Wednesday morning. In the high-stakes Delhi municipal polls, over 71 lakh electorates exercised their franchise to choose 270 ward councillors for three corporations — SDMC, EDMC and NDMC.

Watch this video

Early trends are showing that BJP is set to get majority in three civic bodies.

The elections, which witnessed a fierce battle of ballots among the ruling BJP, the Congress and the AAP, were held on Sunday and the results and are likely to have political ramifications beyond the national capital’s borders.

The Delhi State Election Commission has made all the arrangements to carry out the exercise spread over 35 counting centres, that began at 8 AM, according to a PTI report.

A high-octane campaigning was witnessed during the campaigning by the three major players and various other smaller parties who are in the fray. The polls saw a voter turnout of 53.58 per cent, a shade higher than the 2012 MCD elections.

There are 1,004 candidates vying in the North Delhi Municipal Corporation (NDMC) area, 985 in South Delhi Municipal Corporation (SDMC) and 548 in East Delhi Municipal Corporation (EDMC). The BSP and the JD(U) have fielded 211 and 95 candidates respectively while the SP has entered the fray with 28.

As many as 71,39,994 votes were cast on April 23. South Delhi polled a maximum of 26,87,685 votes, followed by North Delhi at 26,80,011. East Delhi polled 17,72,298 votes. Over 1.32 crore electorates were eligible to vote in the polls. While the male vote share stood at 54.04 per cent, the figure for women was pegged at 53.02. 93 votes were polled by people belonging to the other category, as per PTI report.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE and NSE and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Switch to Hindi Edition