Bihar legislative council polls: Congress springs a surprise, names Tariq Anwar as candidate

By: |
June 24, 2020 11:10 PM

Tariq Anwar served as a member of the council of ministers in the Manmohan Singh government from the NCP quota

Bihar legislative council polls, Bihar MLC polls, Congress, Tariq Anwar, Katihar, Lok Sabha, Nationalist Congress Party, biharA multiple-term MP from Katihar Lok Sabha constituency, Tariq Anwar had headed Congress party’s state unit in the 1980s.

In a surprise move, the Congress on Wednesday night announced that former Union minister and
veteran leader Tariq Anwar will be its candidate for the biennial elections to the legislative council in Bihar. A statement to this effect was issued by AICC general secretary Mukul Wasnik, less than 24 hours before the process of filing nominations would come to a close on Thursday.

A multiple-term MP from Katihar Lok Sabha constituency, Anwar had headed the party’s state unit in the 1980s but parted ways a decade later when he founded the Nationalist Congress Party along with Maharashtra strongman Sharad Pawar and P A Sangma from Meghalaya.

He served as a member of the council of ministers in the Manmohan Singh government from the NCP quota but quit the party a couple of years ago when media reports quoted Pawar,  the NCP national president, as having defended Prime Minister Narendra Modi on the Rafale deal.

Notwithstanding Pawar’s denial, Anwar returned to the Congress and was fielded from Katihar in the Lok Sabha polls last year. He, however, lost to a less-fancied candidate of the JD(U) by a margin of over 50,000 votes.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.

Next Stories
1Battleground Bihar: Youngsters from political clans try their luck as Tejashwi, Chirag fight to defend legacy
2Bihar Election 2020: High Court seeks EC reply on Plurals Party’s plea seeking common symbol to contest polls
3Setback for Congress! Chhattisgarh Governor blocks govt move to bypass Centre’s farm laws