Bihar election: BJP central election committee meets to finalise candidates

By: |
October 4, 2020 8:53 PM

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP president J P Nadda and other top party leaders attended the meeting.

Union Minister and senior BJP leaders Ravi Shankar Prasad addresses a press conference ahead of Bihar Assembly polls, in Patna. (PTI/File Photo)

The BJP central election committee met here on Sunday to deliberate over the Bihar assembly polls and finalise the party’s candidates, as the ruling National Democratic Alliance suffered a setback with Union minister Ram Vilas Paswan’s Lok Janshakti Party deciding to walk out of the NDA in the state.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP president J P Nadda and other top party leaders attended the meeting.

Earlier in the day, BJP leaders, including Home Minister Amit Shah and Nadda, held long deliberations over the unfolding political situation in the state where the saffron party has declared JD(U) president and Chief Minister Nitish Kumar as the leader of the alliance for the three-phase polls.

While lauding the BJP, the LJP said it will not contest the elections under Kumar’s leadership.

The Bihar assembly polls will be held in three phases on October 28, November 3 and November 7, and the counting of votes will take place on November 10.

The nomination process for the first phase, under which 71 of the total 243 seats will go to polls, began from October 1 and will end on October 8.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, Check out latest IPO News, Best Performing IPOs, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.

Next Stories
1Madhya Pradesh Congress chief Kamal Nath hits out at BJP over free vaccination promise
2Congress leader Rahul Gandhi dubs PM Modi a ‘formidable enemy,’ vows to defeat him
3Grand Alliance to decide CM candidate for Assam after polls