BBMP Mayor polls: Clean sweep for BJP; wins Mayor, deputy Mayor posts

By: |
Updated: October 1, 2019 3:32:22 PM

Bengaluru Mayor polls 2019: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Gautam Kumar has been elected the new Mayor of Bengaluru.

Bengaluru Mayor election, Bengaluru new mayor BJP leader Gautam Kumar is elected as new Mayor of Bengaluru.

Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike elections: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidates M Gautam Kumar and CS Rammohan Raju have been elected as the new Mayor and Deputy Mayor of Bengaluru. Kumar will be the 54th Mayor of the city. He defeated Congress nominee R Satyanarayana to win the top post in the Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike (BBMP), Bengaluru’s local civic body.  Raju, who is the BJP corporator from Bommanahalli, got 129 votes against JD-S rival Gangamma who got 108 votes.

Kumar, who originally hails from Rajasthan, secured 129 votes in the elections. His election to the post comes amidst confusion and differences within the local unit of the ruling BJP.

Gautam Kumar’s opponent Sathyanarayana, who represents Dattatreya Temple ward in the local civic body, got 112 votes out of total 249-vote electoral college.

Members of Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha, MLAs and MLCs and city corporators are eligible to vote in election for the post of Bengaluru mayor.

The disqualification of several of their MLAs by former Assembly Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar proved costly for the Congress and Janata Dal – Secular, who continue to be in alliance in the BBMP council. Former legislators like R Roshan Baig, Byrathi Basavaraj were among many others who could not votes denting the Congress-JD-S chances.


Meanwhile, Tejasvi Surya, MP from Bengaluru south constituency, congratulated Gautam Kumar on being elected as the new Mayor of the city.

“Congratulations on being elected as the Mayor for Bengaluru, Sri Gautam Kumar. As a Yuva Morcha karyakarta, you had shown dedication and ability for hardwork. I am confident that you will bring those qualities to help Bengaluru in your term,” Surya said in his tweet.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE and NSE and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Next Stories
1Supreme Court to pronounce verdict on plea seeking prosecution of Maharashtra CM Devendra Fadnavis today
2India has a non-partisan approach to US domestics politics, says S Jaishankar
3Raghuram Rajan says suppressing criticism is a sure fire recipe for policy mistakes