Bawana bypoll in Delhi: Voting begins as Arvind Kejriwal’s AAP, BJP and Congress seek favourable mandate

By: | Updated: August 23, 2017 8:38 AM

Bawana bypoll in Delhi: Polling today began in Bawana Assembly constituency, according to reports.

bawana bypoll, delhi bypoll, bawana election, bawana poll, delhi election, election in delhi, bawana bypoll date, arvind kejriwal, aap, bjp, congress, bawana resuls date, bawana election results,Bawana bypoll in Delhi: Polling today began in Bawana Assembly constituency. (ANI image)

Bawana bypoll in Delhi: Polling today began in Bawana Assembly constituency, according to reports. The election is a crucial one for Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal’s AAP, ruling BJP at the Centre and Congress. This comes months after MCD elections in which BJP led by Party President Amit Shah and Delhi unit chief Manoj Tiwari managed to secure a resounding win as AAP and Congress were reduced to passive participants. Now, in this election, all parties were seeking a favourable mandate. While BJP would like to continue its winning momentum, AAP is eager to prove that it is still a force to reckon with in Delhi especially after all infightings in the party. Congress, once a powerhouse in the national capital, is banking on Bawana bypoll to stage much-needed comeback. Results of the bypoll will be announced on August 28.

AAP, which enjoys an overwhelming majority in the assembly, has fielded Ram Chander from the constituency. The BJP has just four members in the 70-member assembly and Ved Prakash. The other major contender is of the Congress, which is trying hard to open its account after being relegated to zero in the 70-member Delhi Legislative Assembly. The Congress has fielded its former three time MLA from Bawana, Surender Kumar. Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal and his cabinet colleagues and top AAP leaders campaigned hectically in the constituency.

Notably, BJP’s candidate Ved Prakash had won from Bawana in 2015 Assembly elections as an AAP candidate. He had resigned from the MLA post and quit the AAP to join the BJP in March last.

Watch this video

Nearly three lakh people are eligible to cast votes at 379 polling stations set up across the constituency in north-west Delhi. EVMs equipped with voter verifiable paper audit trail (VVPAT) are being used in the bypoll, according to PTI report. The number of male, female and third gender electors are 1,64,114; 1,30,143; and 25, respectively. The average number of voters per polling station stands at 776. Out of 379 polling stations in the constituency, 311 have less than 1,000 registered electors, while 68 have more than 1,000 registered electors, it said.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE and NSE and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Switch to Hindi Edition