Bareilly Mayor Election Result 2017: BJP candidate Umesh Gautam wins

By: |
New Delhi | Updated: December 1, 2017 4:21:39 PM

Bareilly Municipal Corporation Nagar Nigam Elections, Mayor Poll Results 2017: BJP's mayoral candidate Umesh Gautam has won.

Bareilly results, Bareilly results live, Bareilly civic polls results, Bareilly municipal corporation results, Bareilly municipal results, yogi adityanath, Bareilly mayor, Bareilly mayor nameBareilly Municipal Corporation Nagar Nigam Elections, Mayor Poll Results 2017: BJP’s mayoral candidate Umesh Gautam has won.

Bareilly Nagar Nigam (Municipal Corporation) Election Result 2017 was announced. BJP’s mayoral candidate Umesh Gautam has won. State Government of Uttar Pradesh has published the reservation list of Bareilly Nagar Nigam reservation list ward-wise.  Reservation in Bareilly Nagar Palika has been done on the basis of 2011 census for the OBC, SC, ST, Woman, General category Candidates. There are 4 Nagar Palika Parishad in Bareilly Nagar Nikay each having 25 wards namely, Nagar Palika Aanwala, Nagar Palika Baheri, Nagar Palika Pharidpur, and Nagar Palika Nawabganj. The voting for Bareilly civic body was held on November 29 during third phase of polling. The Bareilly Municipal Corporation has 80 wards and all major parties, namely Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Congress, Samajwadi Party (SP), Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) will be competing against each other.

On November 22, 24 districts in UP went to polls for the municipal elections with voting being held in 4,095 wards over 230 local bodies. As many as 3,731 polling stations and 11, 683 polling booths have been set up for the 1.09 crore eligible voters. The first phase of polling began on November 22. In all the three phases, a combined 3.32 crore voters were eligible to cast their vote at 36, 269 polling booths and 11,389 polling stations. The Bharatiya Janata Party had won a landslide victory in municipal polls in 2012 winning 10 out of 12 mayoral positions. The current Deputy Chief Minister of UP Dinesh Sharma had then won the position of Lucknow mayor.

BJP mayor candidate Umesh Gautam

The Mathura-Vrindavan municipal corporation and Ayodhya municipal corporation (covering Faizabad and Ayodhya) formed under the Adityanath government were also going to polls. For the first phase, polling was held in Meerut, Agra, Kanpur, Ayodhya and Gorakhpur. For the second phase, Ghaziabad, Aligarh, Mathura, Allahabad, Lucknow and Varanasi went to polls and for the third phase, voting was held for Saharanpur, Moradabad, Bareilly, Firozabad and Jhansi.

Samajwadi Party chief and former Uttar Pradesh chief minister Akhilesh Yadav abstained from campaigning rigorously and held a handful of press conferences and meetings before the elections. Akhilesh’s suffered a massive defeat at the hands of BJP in the Assembly election and despite Adityanath jumping into the campaign trail, Akhilesh did not follow.

The Bahujan Samaj Party which contested the municipal polls after over 20 years didn’t see party supremo and former UP CM Mayawati campaign at all. Her party finished third in the Assembly elections and for long had a policy of not contesting local elections. Paper ballots as well as electronic voting machines were used for polls, according to reports. EVMs were employed for voting in 16 municipal corporations while in 438 municipal boards or nagar panchayats and 198 nagar palikas or town areas paper ballots were used.

According to the State Election Commission, the overall polling percentage in the first phase on November 22 stood at 52.59. In 2012, the polling percentage in these districts that went to polls in first phase was 46.1. The highest polling in the first phase was recorded in Hamirpur, which witnessed a 69.59 per cent turnout, followed by Amethi. The second phase of the elections saw an average voter turnout of over 50 per cent. A total of 1.3 crore electors in 25 districts were eligible to exercise their franchise in the second phase. In 2012, the polling percentage in these districts was 43.67.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE and NSE and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Next Stories
1President Ram Nath Kovind arrives in Nagaland
2Skill India to train 20,000 youth in textile sector
3Delhi government approves Rs 442 cr for sanitation workers