Baramati election result 2019: Ajit Pawar wins seat by over 1.6 lakh votes

By: |
Updated: Oct 24, 2019 4:45 PM

Baramati Assembly Election Results 2019, Ajit Pawar: NCP's Ajit Pawar has been representing the Baramati seat in the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly since 1991.

Baramati Assemly election result live updates Ajit Pawar is seeking re-election from Baramati Assembly seat.

Baramati (Maharashtra) Assembly Election Results 2019: Senior NCP leader Ajit Pawar wins the Baramati Assembly seat by a huge margin. Pawar got 1,65,265 votes over rival BJP’s Gopichand Padalkar, according to the Election Commission. He has been representing the Baramati seat in the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly since 1991.

The Baramati seat has been a traditional bastion for the Pawar family. Ajit Pawar is the nephew of NCP chief Sharad Pawar.

This election, the ruling BJP fixated on denting Pawar’s hold on the seat and has fielded Gopichand Padalkar, a Dhangar community leader. Gopichand left the Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi (VBA) ahead of the elections and joined the BJP. Eight others including five independents are in the fray from here.

The NCP strongman is fighting a battle for survival from his family bastion this time. He had resigned as MLA just ahead of the elections after being named by Enforcement Directorate (ED) in the Maharashtra State Cooperative Bank scam. He had declared that he will ‘fight fire with fire’.

In his rallies, Ajit Pawar raised the Enforcement Directorate action against him in the bank scam. He demanded to know when the ED will take action against other politicians on the board of banks where a scam of Rs 25,000 crore is alleged. The two-time former deputy CM claimed that there was no corruption in and all outstanding loans have been recovered. He went on to point out in his rallies that the bank has also made a profit of Rs 285 crore.

In the 2014 elections, Ajit Pawar won from here by defeating the BJP candidate by a margin of 89,791 votes, pocketing a vote share of 65.92%. Several opinion polls have predicted that Ajit Pawar is likely to win from the family stronghold.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.

Next Stories
1PM Modi speaks to British counterpart Johnson on COVID-19 vaccines, trade and security
2Who is Suvendu Adhikari? Why his fallout with Mamata Banerjee matters for TMC
3BJP nominates Sushil Modi as its candidate for Rajya Sabha bypoll