1. Ayodhya Nagar Nigam Municipal Corporation elections results 2017: Full list of winners, Mayor

Ayodhya Nagar Nigam Municipal Corporation elections results 2017: Full list of winners, Mayor

The chief minister Yogi Adityanath who came to power in Uttar Pradesh in March this year will look to make a mark on the national map with these elections.

By: | Lucknow | Updated: December 1, 2017 5:16 PM
Ayodhya nagar nigam result, Ayodhya municipal corporation result, Ayodhya nagar nigam result 2017, Ayodhya municipal corporation result, up civic polls, up civic polls 2017, up nagar nigam election 2012, up civic polls 2017 The Ayodhya Nagar Nigam was formed recently and these elections will be happening for the first time in the newly formed constituency. (Photo: IE)

The results of civic polls in Ayodhya has been declared. BJP’s Rishikesh Upadhyay has been elected as mayor of the Holy city. Elections here were held for the first time this year after the formation of Ayodhya Nagar Nigam.The BJP had put an all-out effort to win these civic polls. This could be judged from the fact that the chief minister, as well as a number of senior ministers of his government, campaigned for BJP candidates. The results of these elections is expected to settle the debate on whether people of the state are happy with the performance of the Yogi Adityanath government, which came to power in March this year amid hosts of expectations, or not.

Days before first phase of elections, the chief minister was seen visiting temples to offer his prayers on November 22. Earlier, state deputy CM Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya had also lashed out at other political parties accusing them of defaming Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

“These three parties (SP, BSP and Congress) do not have an agenda. They have lost the mandate of the people and are hell-bent on stopping and pushing Prime Minister Narendra Modi. But, their plans will never succeed,” he was quoted as saying in media. This ancient city is is adjacent to Faizabad in the central region of the state.

Earlier in the day, announcing the start of counting, state State Election Commission had said the counting of ballots started in all districts peacefully. Counting was done for 16 nagar nigam, 198 nagar palika parishad and 438 nagar panchayats.

During the last civic polls in 2012, BJP won mayor posts in 12 municipal corporations. Soon after coming to power, Yogi Adityanath government constituted two municipal corporations of Ayodhya and Vrindavan-Mathura.

Also Read: UP Civic Polls 2017 results LIVE Updates: From Ayodhya to Kashi, BJP passes GST test; leads in 14 seats

While the voting percentage of first two phases on November 22 and 26 were .59 and 49.3, the third phase saw 53 per cent turnout. The overall turnout was to 52.5 percent this time, an improvement from last year which was 46.2 percent.

Full list of ward-wise winners to be updated soon


Get live Stock Prices from BSE and NSE and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Go to Top