Assam Assembly Election 2021 Full Schedule: Poll dates announced for 126-member assembly; check voting, result dates

By: |
New Delhi | February 26, 2021 6:40 PM

Assam Assembly Election 2021 Date, Time and Results: The polling for the 126-member legislative assembly will take place in three phases.

Assam Assembly Election Full Schedule, Assam Assembly Election 2021 DateAssam Assembly Election Full Schedule 2021: The election will take place by strictly adhering to COVID-19 protocols.

Assam Legislative Assembly Election 2021 Voting Date, Exit Polls and Results: Election dates for the 126-member Assam Assembly has been announced today. The Election Commission today said that the election will be held in three phase between 27th March and 6th April. In Phase-I, 47 number of assembly constituencies will go to polls while in Phase-II, voting for 39 number of seats will take place. In third phase, 40 assembly constituencies will go to polls.

The results for the State Assembly Election will be announced on May 2.

Assam Assembly Election First Phase: 47 Constituencies
Issue of Notification: 2nd March, 2021
Last Date of Nomination: 9th March
Scrutiny of Nomination: 10th March
Last date of withdrawal of candidature: 12th March
Date of polls: 27th March

Assam Assembly Election Second Phase: 39 Constituencies
Issue of Notification: 5th March, 2021
Last Date of Nomination: 12th March
Scrutiny of Nomination: 13th March
Last date of withdrawal of candidature: 17th March
Date of polls: 1st April

Assam Assembly Election Third Phase: 40 Constituencies
Issue of Notification: 12th March, 2021
Last Date of Nomination: 19th March
Scrutiny of Nomination: 20th March
Last date of withdrawal of candidature: 22nd March
Date of polls: 6th April

Term of Assam assembly ends on 31st May while 8 seats are reserved for SC and 16 seats are reserved for ST out of total 126 assembly seats. Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora said that Model Code of Conduct has come into force immediately after the announcement of the election dates. The commission has made adequate arrangements to ensure effective implementation of MCC guidelines. The Election Commission has appointed Ashok Kumar as a special police observer for Assam. “In Assam in 2016, the polling stations were 24,890 and in 2021, there will be 33,530. The percentage increase in polling stations 35.71 per cent,” Arora said.

Adequate CAPFs deployment will be ensured during elections. “All critical, vulnerable polling stations have been identified and an adequate number of CAPFs will be deployed at these polling stations,” informed Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora. The BJP had created history in 2016 elections by winning Assam, making it first north-eastern state to be governed by the saffron party. The BJP had ousted the Congress after its 15-year uninterrupted rule. The BJP had alone won 60 seats in the 126-member Assembly.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, Check out latest IPO News, Best Performing IPOs, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.

Next Stories
1Over 24,000 children died by suicide from 2017 to 2019: NCRB data
2Pegasus issue: SC to hear on Aug 5 pleas seeking probe into snooping allegations
3Over Rs 15.8 crore spent on advertisements about Pusa bio-decomposer: Delhi govt to Assembly