Arunachal, Tripura join other BJP-ruled states to cut fuel prices

By: |
October 4, 2018 10:34 PM

The Shiv Sena Thursday joined the Opposition to condemn the "meagre" reduction in prices of petrol and diesel by the BJP-led governments at Centre and in Maharashtra.

Arunachal, Tripura join other BJP-ruled states to cut fuel prices

Arunachal Pradesh and Tripura joined other BJP-ruled states in the country Thursday to reduce petrol and diesel prices by Rs 2.5 per litre after the Centre’s decision to pare prices by a similar margin. The state governments will bear the impact of the cut of Rs 2.5 per litre from the state Value Added Tax (VAT).

The Arunachal Pradesh government has decided to cut fuel price with effect from Thursday midnight, an official statement said adding the consumers will get the benefit of a total relief of Rs 5 per litre. It said the step is being taken in order to ease the difficulties of the common people and also to reduce the inflationary trend despite loss in revenue.

The Centre’s decision to cut excise duty on petrol and diesel by Rs 1.50 per litre was announced by Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley who said oil firms would absorb Re 1 a litre of the prices. He asked the state governments to match the move with a similar reduction in sales tax or VAT.

Announcing the cut in fuel price in Tripura, Sanjoy Mishra, the media advisor to Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb, said it was being done to “honour the central government’s decision to provide respite to the common man” . The petrol price in Agartala today was Rs 82.35 per litre. The revised rates would make Rs 77.35 per litre.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, Check out latest IPO News, Best Performing IPOs, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.

Next Stories
1Tamil Nadu Election 2021: DMK allocates six seats to CPI-M, Owaisi’s AIMIM strikes pact with Dhinakaran
2West Bengal Election 2021: EC removes Howrah Rural SP after TMC fields his wife from Sonapur Dakshin seat
3Piyush Goyal orders probe into Eastern Railway office building fire in Kolkata