1. Allahabad Municipal Corporation Nagar Nigam elections result 2017: Full List of ward-wise winners, mayor

Allahabad Municipal Corporation Nagar Nigam elections result 2017: Full List of ward-wise winners, mayor

Allahabad not only holds historical and religious importance but it has noticeable contribution in political field as well.

By: | New Delhi | Updated: December 1, 2017 5:25 PM
Allahabad Nagar Nigam (Municipal Corporation) Election Result 2017 is being announced today.

The results of civic polls are being announced across Uttar Pradesh today. The local body elections are considered as big test of BJP government’s governance in the state since coming to power in March this year. The importance of these civic polls for the BJP can be judged from the fact that the chief minister as also a number of senior members of his cabinet campaigned to see the party through in the state.

As per Uttar Pradesh Nagar Palika Act 1959, this Municipal Corporation was handed over the responsibility to provide public services to the citizens. Keeping this in mind, the corporation has provided citizen charter with information related to proceeding on a number of works including transportation, street lighting, road maintenance, sanitation, water clearance, recovery of taxes and fees, veterinary services. Allahabad is the main hum of the judiciary in the state with most important being Allahabad High Court. It was ranked as 40th fast growing city in the world in 2011.

The local body election results proved that people continue to have faith in the Yogi Adityanath government and the BJP still enjoy the popularity it got earlier this year to win Assembly polls. Uttar Pradesh BJP chief Mahendra Nath Pandey had said the feedback from the party workers was positive. The state went to civic polls in three phases i.e November 22, 26 and 29. While the first two phases saw a turnout of 52.59 and 49.3 percent turnout respectively, the last phase saw 53 percent turnout. Currently, BJP’s Abhilasha Gupta is mayor of Allahabad.

Also read: UP Civic Polls 2017 results LIVE Updates: From Ayodhya to Kashi, BJP passes GST test; leads in 14 seats

The civic polls were earlier scheduled during June-July but were postponed as the electoral rolls and other important processes could not be completed in time. In 2012, the BJP continued to dominate after winning 7 out of 12 mayor posts in the Municipal Corporation election in the state.

Full list of ward-wise winners to be updated soon


Get live Stock Prices from BSE and NSE and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Go to Top