25 Indian CMs are crorepatis, Chandrababu Naidu tops list: Meet the other 10 richest chief ministers

By: |
New Delhi | Updated: February 13, 2018 1:30:59 PM

As per data analysed by the Association for Democratic Reforms, Andhra Pradesh CM is the richest CM while Tripura CM Manik Sarkar is the poorest among the lot. Keeping him company are Mamata Banerjee and Mehbooba Mufti.

Chandrababu Naidu, association for democratic reforms, richest chief minister, vijay rupani, amarinder singh, national election watch,Chandrababu Naidu is the richest CM, while Manik Sarkar is the poorest, data analysed by ADR shows.

A total of 25 chief ministers in India have declared assets of over Rs 1 crore, with Andhra Pradesh CM Chandrababu Naidu emerging as the richest chief minister of India with assets worth over Rs 177 crore, an analysis of their self-sworn affidavits filed by the CMs of 29 states has shown. As per a report based on this analysis by the Association of Democratic Reforms, while two chief ministers have declared assets of over Rs 100 crore, six have wealth between Rs 10 crore and Rs 50 crore, 17 between Rs 1 crore to Rs 10 crore and six below Rs 6 crore.

Tripura CM Manik Sarkar is the poorest CM with assets worth Rs 26 lakh. An interesting name in this list is that of West Bengal chief minister and TMP supremo Mamata Banerjee who has assets worth a little over Rs 30 lakh. She is followed by Jammu and Kashmir CM Mehbooba Mufti who has declared wealth of around Rs 56 lakh.

Here are the 11 richest chief ministers of India:

1. Chandrababu Naidu (Rs 177.48 cr)

The Andhra Pradesh CM tops the list with assets worth Rs 177.48 crore. Of this, Naidu has declared movable assets worth Rs 134.80 cr and immovable assets worth Rs 42.68 crore, the ADR report says. Naidu has recently upped the ante against the BJP over budget allocations for AP. He has even threatened to walk out of the NDA.

2. Pema Khandu (Rs 129.57 cr)
Arunachal chief minister Pema Khandu comes in on the second place with over Rs 103 crore in movable assets and over Rs 26 crore in immovable assets. ‘

3. Amarinder Singh (Rs 48.31 cr)
The Punjab chief minister who returned to power in the state last year ranks third among the richest chief ministers of India. He has movable assets worth Rs 6 crore and immovable assets worth Rs 42 crore.

4. K Chandrashekar Rao (Rs 15.51 cr)
KCR, as he is popularly known, is the chief minister of Telangana and has been critical of the state government over allocation of funds to the state for centrally-sponsored schemes.

5. Mukul Sangma (Rs 14.50 cr)
The Meghalaya CM is a four-time member of the state assembly. He has served as the chief minister for the past 10 years.

6. Siddaramaiah (Rs 13.61 cr)
The Karnataka CM is currently busy with his party’s campaign for the state elections due later this year. He has served as Deputy CM twice and is hoping for a return to power in the state as CM for his second consecutive term.

7. Naveen Patnaik (Rs 12.06 cr)
The Odisha chief minister is a writer besides being a politician and has published four books. In 2014, Patnaik managed to hold water in the face of the Modi wave and secured 20 out of the 21 Lok Sabha seats and 117 of the 147 Vidhan Sabha seats.

8. Pawan Kumar Chamling (Rs 10.70 cr)
The Sikkim leader is the founder president of the Sikkim Democratic Front which has governed the state for five successive terms since 1994. He is also a Nepali language author and writes under the pen name Pawan Chamling Kiran.

9. V Narayanasamy (Rs 9.65 cr)
A senior Congress leader, Narayanasamy was appointed the Puducherry CM in June 2016. He has previously served as Minister of State at the Centre during the UPA regime.

10. Lal Thanhawla (Rs 9.15 cr)
The Mizoram CM has been in office since December 2008 and has served as CM five times, a record for the state. He has also successfully contested general elections nine times.

11. Vijay Rupani (Rs 9.09 cr)
Rupani saw himself being elevated to the Gujarat CM’s post after Anandiben Patel stepped down in 2016. He has been associated with the BJP since its formation and became the president of the party’s state unit in February 2016, just months before his elevation.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE and NSE and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Next Stories
1Nagaland Assembly elections 2018: Former CM Neiphiu Rio declared elected unopposed before polls
2Mohan Bhagwat should apologise, Narendra Modi should clarify stand: Opposition
3Narendra Modi in Oman: PM visits Shiva temple in Muscat