From Mimi Chakraborty to Nusrat Jahan: Meet Tollywood stars contesting for Mamata Banerjee against BJP in Bengal

By: |
New Delhi | Published: March 14, 2019 6:15:18 PM

TMC candidate list 2019: West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee has kept her faith on Mimi Chakraborty and Nusrat Jahan.

Mimi Chakraborty, Nusrat Jahan, mamata banerjeeNusrat Jahan (L), Mamata Banerjee and Mimi Chakraborty (R)

Mamata Banerjee’s Trinamool Congress has announced its candidate list for Lok Sabha Elections 2019. The list of 42 candidates consists of a bevy of Bengali cinestars. The West Bengal Chief Minister has fielded five cinestars- Mimi Chakraborty, Nusrat Jahan, Satabdi Roy, Moon Moon Sen and Dev. While Roy, Sen and Dev were elected as MPs in 2014 Lok Sabha elections, Mimi and Nusrat are two newcomers into politics.

Deepak Adhikari, popularly known as Dev, will contest from Ghatal Lok Sabha, Moon Moon Sen to contest from Asansol and Satabdi Roy has been fielded from Birbhum Lok Sabha seat. Mimi has been fielded from Jadavpur and Nusrat Jahan is contesting from Basirhat Lok Sabha seat. In 2014 Lok Sabha polls, TMC fielded five film stars. All five of the film stars won from their seats. TMC, however, dropped Tapas Pal and Sandhya Roy this year.

Let’s take a look at brief profile of TMC star candidates

Mimi Chakraborty: Mimi Chakraborty hails from north Bengal town of Jalpaiguri. She completed her graduation in English literature from prestigious Asutosh College in Kolkata. She became a household name after her TV drama Gaaner Oparey. She has acted over 20 Bengali films. The 30-year-old has a political background as her maternal uncle is the district secretary of Trinamool Congress in Jalpaiguri in north Bengal.

Nusrat Jahan: Nusrat Jahan is another star face of the Bengali film industry. She holds a B.Com. degree from Kolkata’s Bhawanipur College. She made her debut in the commercial hit Shotru. She has acted in around 20 films. TMC is banking on Nusrat’s Muslim identity to get votes in minority-dominated Basirhat Lok Sabha seat.

Satabdi Roy: Satabdi Roy made her debut 1986 movie Atanka. She has acted over 100 Bengali movies. Satabdi is a two-time MP having won Lok Sabha elections from Birbhum Lok Sabha seat in 2009 and 2014 general elections.

Moon Moon Sen: Moon Moon Sen is a veteran actress. She has acted in Hindi, Bengali, Tamil, Telugu, Malayalam, Marathi and Kannada movies. Sen is the daughter of legendary actress Suchitra Sen. Moon Moon Sen is the popular name for Sreemati Dev Varma. Sen made her foray into politics in 2014 when she joined Trinamool Congress and won from Bankura. She is known as giant-slayer in politics as she defeated veteran CPI(M) leader and nine-time MP Basudeb Acharia. This time she will be contesting from Asansol where the sitting MP is BJP’s Babul Supriyo.

Dev: Dev is the reigning superstar in the Bengali film industry. He delivered smashing hits and earned critical success of late. He contested from Ghatal Lok Sabha seat in 2014 Lok Sabha polls and won the election.

TMC has fielded 17 female candidates out of total 42. Over 40 per cent candidates are women this time, up from 34 per cent last time.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE and NSE and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Next Stories
1Pre-book tickets for Kesari as the release nears; here’s how
2Black Buck poaching case: Jodhpur HC issues notice to Saif Ali Khan, Sonali Bendre, Tabu
3Aamir Khan to Mohanlal: PM Narendra Modi urges Bollywood stars to create voting awareness