WATCH: Jana Sena leader Madhusudhan Gupta smashes EVM at poll booth in Anantapur, arrested

By: |
Updated: April 11, 2019 12:12:24 PM

Jana Sena leader Madhusudan Gupta was caught on camera smashing an Electronic Voting Machin (EVM) inside a polling station in Gooty area of of Anantapur district in Andhra Pradesh.

Jana Sena leader, Election in Andhra PradeshRepresentational pic. Jana Sena leader breaks EVM at a polling station in Andhra Pradesh

Making an absolute mockery of the election exercise, a leader of the Pawan Kalyan-led Jana Sena Party smashed an Electronic Voting Machine (EVM) inside a polling station in Gooty area of of Anantapur district in Andhra Pradesh. According to news agency ANI, the leader was arrested by the police for breaking the EVM and disrupting the election process. The leader has been identified as Madhusudan Gupta.

News agency ANI also tweeted the video of the entire incident. Madhusudan had come to cast his vote at the polling booth in Gooty. The leader got furious and scolded the election staff at the center over names of assembly and parliamentary constituencies not being displayed properly on the machine.

Watch video:

After a round of verbal spat, he lost his cool and smashed the EVM on the floor. The entire incident took place inside the polling station in front of the polling staff in the Guntakal Assembly constituency of Anantapur district.

The incident was also recorded by one of the voters present inside the polling station. The police arrested the leader after learning about the incident.

Madhusudan Gupta is a former MLA. He is contested from Guntakal Assembly constituency on Jana Sena Party ticket.

Meanwhile, a mandal parishad member of Jaganmohan Reddy-led YSR Congress was seriously injured when he was allegedly attacked by TDP workers at a polling station in Eluru. In Ponnathota village of Jammalamadugu in Kadapa district, tension prevailed after YSR Congress and ruling TDP workers indulged in stone-pelting. Also in Narsaraopet constituency (Guntur), YSR Congress leaders claimed that TDP workers ransacked a polling station in Yelamanda village.

Both Lok Sabha and Assembly elections in Andhra Pradesh are being held simultaneously today.

Follow for all news and analysis on the Lok Sabha Elections 2019. Check Lok Sabha election 2019 schedule, Lok Sabha Constituency Details and updates on campaigning by Narendra Modi and Rahul Gandhi. Like us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter.