Uttarakhand Lok Sabha election results: Full list of winners

By: |
Updated: May 23, 2019 8:08 PM

Uttarakhand Lok Sabha elections results: Voting in the state was held during the first phase of the Lok Sabha elections on April 11. The state had registered a low voter turnout of 61.50%. 

Uttarakhand elections resultsIn the 2017 Assembly elections, the BJP won 57 of the 70 seats in the state., while Congress could manage just 11.

Uttarakhand election results -Full List of Winners: The Bharatiya Janata Party made Uttarakhand its stronghold after it won all the 5 Lok Sabha seats during the 2014 general elections. The BJP performed an encore in the Assembly polls in 2017, where they won 57 of the 70 seats in the state. For the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, the saffron party has repeated three of its five sitting MPs, including Mala Rajyalaxmi Shah (Tehri Garhwal) and state BJP president Ajay Bhatt from Nainital-Udhamsingh Nagar seat.

It will be a three-way contest in the state with the SP-BSP alliance throwing in the hat. The Bahujan Samaj Party would be fielding its candidates from four seats, while the Samajwadi Party was to field its candidate from the Garhwal seat. The Akhilesh Yadav-led party failed to field a candidate, narrowing down the competition between sitting MP and BJP leader Tirath Singh Rawat and Congress’ Manish Khanduri. The only instance when the BSP or SP has won a seat across the five Lok Sabha seats in Uttarakhand was in 2004, when the Samajwadi Party won the Haridwar (SC) seat.

Here winners in the 5 Lok Sabha seats in Uttarakhand:

1) Tehri Garhwal – Mala Rajya Laxmi Shah (BJP)
2) Garhwal- Tirath Singh Rawat (BJP)
3) Almora – Ajay Tamta (BJP)
4) Nainital- Ajay Bhatt (BJP)
5) Haridwar – Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank’ (BJP)

Voting in Uttarakhand was held during the first phase of the Lok Sabha elections on April 11. The state had registered a low voter turnout of 61.50%. The outcome of seats keenly awaited are Nainital where former chief minister Harish Rawat battled state BJP president Ajay Bhatt, Tehri where sitting BJP MP Mala Rajya Laxmi Shah was challenged by PCC president Pritam Singh and Pauri where former BJP MLA Tirath Singh Rawat took on sitting party MP BC Khanduri’s son Manish who debuts as a Congress candidate.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, Check out latest IPO News, Best Performing IPOs, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.

Next Stories
1Kolkata Municipal Corporation Elections 2021: Full list of TMC councillor candidates
2Beyond pledges and tall promises: The X-factor Congress needs to regain lost ground in UP elections
3Puzzled why PM Modi would blame previous BJP governments for neglecting Uttar Pradesh, says P Chidambaram