Uttarakhand swearing-in Live updates: PM Narendra Modi congratulates new CM Trivendra Singh Rawat

By: |
New Delhi | Updated: March 18, 2017 6:03 PM

Uttarakhand CM-designate Trivendra Singh Rawat, the leader who was chosen unanimously as Bharatiya Janata Party legislative party leader sworn in as the Chief Minister of Uttarakhand today.

Trivendra Singh Rawat (ANI)

Uttarakhand CM-designate Trivendra Singh Rawat, the leader who was chosen unanimously as Bharatiya Janata Party legislative party leader, would be swearing in for the post today. The swearing in ceremony will take place at the Parade Ground in the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP cheif Amit Shah. Narendra Singh Tomar, party’s central observer said that Rawat’s name was proposed by MLA Satpal Maharaj and Prakash Pant who were themselves among the top contenders for the post. Rawat will be the eighth Chief Minister of the state, Rawat has also long been associated with Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS). Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won 57 out of 70 seats in the hills. Shyam Jaju, party in-charge has described the new Chief Minister of Uttarakhand as the ‘most suitable’ choice for the new post, considering his experience.

Also Read: Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister announcement Live


Here are the live updates:

5:58 PM: Uttarakhand Chief Minister Trivendra Singh Rawat, after being sworn in as the new CM attended his first cabinet meeting in Dehradun. Rawat’s first meeting is underway. 

3:43 PM:  PM Narendra Modi has congratulated the new Chief Minister Trivendra Singh Rawat and his council of Ministers. BJP has now formed government in Goa, Manipur and Uttarakhand while the top leaders will announce the name of UP CM today.

3: 40 PM: Wishes are flooding in for the new Chief Minister. Rajasthan CM Vasundhara Raje has congratulated Trivendra Singh Rawat and says, “May devbhoomi #Uttarakhand progress and prosper under your able leadership!”

3: 20 PM:  Union Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad has congratulated Trivendra Singh Shekhawat for becoming the new Chief Minister of Uttarakhand. He believes the state will reach new heights under him.

3:19 PM: Interestingly, Trivendra Singh Rawat’s cabinet will have as many as four Congressmen. Harak Singh Rawat, Satpal Maharaj, Subhodh Oniyal and Yashpal Arya are the Ministers who were previously in Congress.

3: 15 PM: Rekha Arya, ex Congress leader along with Dhan Singh take oath.

3: 13 PM:  Arvind Pandey, Subhod Oniyal take oath as the Cabinet Minister of Uttarakhand.

3: 12 PM: BJP’s Satpal Maharaj takes oath as Uttarakhand cabinet minister.

3:11 PM: Yashpal Arya takes oath as the Cabinet Minister of the state.

3:10 PM:  Harak Singh Rawat, Madan Kaushik take oath as Cabinet Minister of Uttarakhand.

3: 07 PM:  Amit Shah, Rajnath Singh, JP Nadda, Uma Bharti attend oath taking ceremony of Trivendra Singh.

3:06 PM:  Trivendra Singh Rawat takes oath as the new Chief Minister of the state.

3:01 PM: As visuals emerge from the oath taking ceremony, Ex chief minister of Dehradun can be seen attending the ceremony.

2:45 PM: The swearing in ceremony is scheduled to begin at 3PM. Along with PM Narendra Modi, BJP president Amit Shah would also be attending the ceremony. Along with Trivendra Singh Rawat, six other MLAs will also take oath today.

2: 31 PM: PM Narendra Modi has reached Dehradun for Trivendra Singh Rawat’s oath taking ceremony.

2:10 PM: Rajnath Singh was all praises for the Trivendra Singh Rawat as he was announced the Chief Minister. Home Minister Rajnath Singh appreciating Rawat for his loyalty reminded voters “Trivendra Singh Rawat ne kabhi apni nishtha nahin badli (Rawat never switched his loyalty)”.

2:00 PM: It seems that Bharatiya Janata Party is eyeing some major reforms in the state. The party recently launched a social secuirty scheme for the poor, unorganised and senior citizens.

1:40 PM: Rawat after being announced the Chief Minister of the state had said that his main aim would be “Providing people of the state with a corruption free government and bringing about a major change in the lives of the poorest of the poor as targeted by the Prime Minister will be our priority,” .

1:20 PM: Prime Minister Narendra Modi has confirmed that he would be present to attend the grand ceremony at Parade Ground as Trivendra Singh Rawat along with 5 other ministers take oath.

1:00 PM: Trivendra Singh Rawat is considered to be Amit Shah’s loyal and is believed to have spearheaded Bharatiya Janata Party’s winning campaign

12: 40 AM: Prakash Pant, Madan Kaushik, Yashpal Arya, Subodh Uniyal and Rekha Arya are among the MLAs who will take oath as ministers today.

12: 30 AM: Meanwhile a lot of drama is going on in Uttar Pradesh as there is still no clarity about the new Chief Minister. Union Minister Venkaiah Naidu has arrived in Lucknow for BJP MLA meet and has said that final decision will be taken after it.

12:00 AM: After his election as the legislature party leader, Rawat had promised to work towards Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s goal of eliminating corruption and poverty.

11:50 AM:  Trivendra Singh Yadav being greeted after Bharatiya Janata Party’s announcement

11:30 AM: According to the affidavit filed by him, Rawat has assets worth more than Rs 1 crore. The new Uttarakhand Chief Minister has no criminal cases filed against him.

11:20 AM: Rawat, who is all set to take oath today as Uttarakhand’s CM is a post graduate in Histroy and has also studied journalism from Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna Garhwal University.

11:00 AM:  Trivendra Singh Rawat was with the RSS from 1983 to 2002 and held the post of organising secretary of the Uttarakhand region and then the state. In 2002, Rawat won the Doiwala assembly seat and was thrice elected to the assembly. Rawat has also served as the state agricultural minister between 2007-2012.

10:50 AM: The oath taking ceremony is scheduled to take place at around 3 PM in Parade Ground, Dehradun.

10:40 AM: According to reports, six other MLAs will also take oath along with Trivendra Singh.

10:30 AM: Trivendra Singh, who was unanimously chosen to the chief minister of Uttarakhand is known to have led BJP to win in the Jharkhand assembly elections in 2014. Trivendra Singh is the third term MLA from Doiwala seat in Pauri Garhwal district and is known for his loyalty to the party.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, Check out latest IPO News, Best Performing IPOs, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.