Uttarakhand Elections 2017: BJP suspend 33 leaders from the Party for 6 years

By: |
New Delhi | Updated: February 05, 2017 9:19 PM

State party chief Ajay Bhatt called the expelled members 'over-ambitious' people and said that their exit won't effect the chances of the part in the upcoming elections.

bjp suspension, BJP memebers suspension, Uttarakhand political leaders suspension, Uttarakhand elections 2017, Assembly elections 2017, amit shah, amit shah, Narendra Modi, Modi, PM Modi, Prime Minister Modi.BJP has expelled 33 members from the party in Uttarakhand. (Source: Reuters)

Bhartiya Janta party has expelled 33 leaders from the party just 10 days before the assembly elections in Uttarakhand due to anti-party activities.The news was confirmed by the state Party President Naresh Bansal who said all the members have been suspended for 6 years because of their involvement in the anti-party activities.

The suspension will come into power from an immediate effect. Among the leaders who have been expelled are, Murarli Lal Bhatt, Satyendra Singh Rana, Mahesh Panwar, Budhhi Singh Panwar, Jafmohan Rawat, Bihari Laal Nautiyal, Dinesh Semwal, Vijay Bahadur Singh Rawat, Harish Nautiyal, Khushal Singh Nautiyal, Ghripal Pokhriyal, Rajesh Semwal and Girish Ramola from the Gangotri consituency.


You may also want to watch:


Earlier in the day, state party chief Ajay Bhatt called the expelled members ‘over-ambitious’ people and said that their exit won’t effect the chances of the part in the upcoming elections. “BJP is a party of principles and its activists work with loyalty. Those who were over-ambitious have rebelled and are fighting against the party. There won’t be any effect on the party with the exit of such over-ambitious people,” Bhatt told PTI.

Taking action against the rebels who have chosen to remain in the poll fray as Independents despite the party’s efforts to cajole them to withdraw, the BJP has suspended as many as 33 such rebels for six years. On the other hand, over a dozen prominent Congress faces have rebelled and joined the BJP which has fielded former Congressmen from 13 seats in the election to 70-member assembly in Uttarakhand on February 15.

“These people left Congress as they were feeling suffocated in the party due to anti-people policies of Harish Rawat government and central leadership of the party. They were also feeling that only Modiji and BJP can deliver development to Uttarakhand. That’s why they left Congress,”the state BJP president claimed.

(with input from agency)

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, Check out latest IPO News, Best Performing IPOs, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.

Next Stories
1UP Elections 2022: Congress manifesto bets big on women, promises smartphones, scooty, jobs
2Punjab Elections 2022: Shiromani Akali Dal announces list of candidates, fields 21 first-timers
3Gorakhpur: PM Modi kicks off UP campaign; says criminals in jail, investments up under BJP govt