Uttarakhand Election 2017: Trivendra Singh Rawat to be the new Chief Minister of state, will take oath on Saturday

By: |
New Delhi | Updated: March 17, 2017 5:00:02 PM

Uttarakhand Election 2017: Bharatiya Janata party has confirmed Trivendra Singh Rawat as the new Chief Minister of Uttarakhand on Friday evening.

 Trivendra Singh Rawat, Trivendra Singh, Trivendra Singh Uttarakhand, Uttarakhand Chief Minister, Uttarkhand CM, BJP, Uttarakhand new Chief Minister, uttarkhand election 2017, 2017 uttarakhand election, assembly election 2017, congress, india news, latest newsIt is learned that the swearing-in will take place in the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP chief Amit Shah. (Picture credit: Facebook)

Bharatiya Janata party has confirmed Trivendra Singh Rawat as the new Chief Minister of Uttarakhand on Friday evening. The announcement was made after a party meeting in presence of all the MLAs but sources said that he was informed one day before itself. Trivendra Singh Rawat will take oath along with his council of ministers on Saturday afternoon at 3 PM. Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah have already confirmed that they will be present for the swearing-in ceremony.

Trivendra Singh Rawat who is a leader with RSS background is believed to be one Amit Shah’s loyal leaders in the state. Rawat was appointed as the Jharkhand’s party chief and played an important role in BJP’s winning campaign this year. He was with the RSS from 1983 to 2002, and held the key post of organising secretary of the Uttarakhand region at first, and later the state. He first won the Doiwala assembly seat in 2002 and was elected to the assembly for the third time and served as the state agriculture minister between 2007-2012.

You may also want to watch:

Even though 56-year-old was always a favourite to be the Chief Minister of state, he faced tough competition from Satpal Maharaj and Prakash Pant but was given the responsibility after the meeting. BJP won 56 out of 70 seats in the state dethroning Harish Rawat’s Congress government. The party has already formed the government in Manipur and Goa by forming post-poll alliances despite not getting a clear mandate. In Goa Manohar Parrikar was named the Chief Minister while N Biren Singh formed the first BJP-led government in Manipur.

BJP also won 325 seats in Uttar Pradesh but is yet to announce the CM face in the state. It was a huge loss for the Congress-Samajwadi Party alliance that could win only 54 seats. On the other hand, Bahujan Samaj Party led by Mayawati was completely wipe out in the state as it could win only 19 seats.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE and NSE and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Next Stories
1MCD elections: BJP virtually sacks councillors, Congress stays ‘loyal’; know all about Delhi local polls
2People will learn SAD’s value after they suffer from drought for 5 years: Sukhbir Singh Badal
3UP elections 2017: Dark horse Manoj Sinha may bag chief minister’s post despite Rajnath Singh emerging as front-runner