Uttarakhand Assembly Elections 2017 Polling: 68 per cent voting in Uttarakhand till 5 pm

Both PM Modi and Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi have run extensive campaigns for their respective parties in the hill state.

State Election Commission, Zilla Parishad, Panchayat Polls 2017, Maharashtra, Phase 1
"69 per cent voters' turnout was reported in the first phase of elections for ZPs and panchayat samitis. However, the final figure will be known after the verification of voting reports by the respective returning officers," a State Election Commission officer said.(Reuters)

Polling in Uttarakhand went on at a brisk pace today with around 68 per cent of the electorate
exercising their franchise by 6 pm, officials said.     Haridwar led the rest of the districts recording the highest polling percentage of 62, followed by Uttarkashi and Udhamsingh Nagar which recorded a 60-per cent voter turnout each at 3 pm, the state election office said.

Check this space for all updates on Uttarakhand Assembly Elections 2017:

5.40 pm: 68 per cent voting in Uttarakhand till 5 pm

4.33 pm: 53% voter turnout recorded till 3 pm in Uttarakhand Election 2017.

2:00 pm: 39% voting in Uttarakhand till 1 pm.

12:32 pm: “Vote for clean candidates and if you feel there is an army of corrupt nominees, vote for the less corrupt,” Ramdev said. “Vote has great power. It can change PMs and CMs. People must come out and vote. I would say voting should be made compulsory for everyone. Those who don’t vote should be deprived of facilities,” he said.

12:27 pm: CM Harish Rawat casts his vote at booth no 45 in Dharampur.

ANI image

12:15 pm: 22% voter turnout recorded in Uttarakhand till 11 AM, according to ANI report.

12:00 pm: Polling began to 69 of a total 70 assembly seats in Uttarakhand with 14 per cent voters exercising their franchise by 10 AM.

11:45 am: All arrangements are in place to ensure free and fair elections in the state with a deployment of nearly 30,000 security personnel and 60,000 polling officials on a total of 10,685 booths across the state out of which 460 are in snowbound areas.

11:30 am: Polling underway at booth no 108 in Haldwani; Congress’ Indira Hridayesh, BSP’s S Ahmad and BJP’s JPS Rautela contesting.

ANI image

10:55 AM: Yoga exponent Baba Ramdev casts his vote at polling booth no.106 in Haridwar.’Modiji poori pramanikta se apna rajdharm nibha rahe hain,’ he says.


9:15 am: BJP’s Uttarakhand president Ajay Bhatt casts his vote at polling booth no. 130 in Ranikhet.

7:25 am: Check out PM Modi’s tweet

7:00 am: Polling begins.

6:56 AM: Voting in the Karnaprayag seat remains postponed, to be held on March 9 as the BSP candidate Kuldeep Kanvasi was killed in a road accident.

The much awaited Uttarakhand Assembly Elections 2017 has started today. People will vote for 69 Assembly seats spread across 13 districts of Uttarakhand and 628 candidates are in fray for as many seats. One seat in the Assembly is nominated. There are around 74.20 lakh voters. Staked ar high for both Congress and BJP in the state. BJP is hoping to gain from the anti-incumbency factor against the Congress government in the state as well as from the popularity of Prime Minister Narendra Modi

During the recently concluded election campaign in the state, the BJP accused Congress Chief Minister Harish Rawat of turning ‘Devbhoomi’ (land of gods) into ‘loot bhoomi’ (land of looters). In response, the Congress claimed BJP can only make tall promises and people of Uttarakhand will reject all appeals made to them by Prime Minister Narendra Modi. Both PM Modi and Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi have run extensive campaigns for their respective parties in the hill state. The Election Commission has made all preparations for ensuring peaceful voting at 10,685 polling booths across the state.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, Check out latest IPO News, Best Performing IPOs, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express Telegram Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.