1. Varanasi South constituency Assembly election winner 2017

Varanasi South constituency Assembly election winner 2017

Varanasi South is constituency No. 389 of Uttar Pradesh legislative assembly.

By: | New Delhi | Published: March 11, 2017 2:30 PM
Uttar Pradesh Assembly Election 2017 Results: Varanasi South constituency. (Representative image)

Results for the Uttar Pradesh Assembly Elections 2017 are out. As per the current trends, Prime Minister Narendra Modi-led BJP is set to win the politically crucial state with a resounding margin. Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Congress Vice President Rahul Gandhi, Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav and Mayawati have raised the pitch for the polls from Varanasi. Hence, Varanasi South is a critical constituency. BJP would like to keep the 2014 Lok Sabha momentum in the region whereas SP and Congress are dearly want to make inroads. Jibes have been hurled against each other frequently during the campaigning with PM Modi and Rahul and Akhilesh’s roadshows grabbing the eyeballs.Betting on the inconvenience caused to the people due to demonetisation move, the incumbent CM has blamed PM Modi and the BJP government at the Centre for causing unrest not just in UP, but across the country. Congress has recently accused PM Modi of fanning communalism during his campaign speech. Though BJP has not announced its chief ministerial candidate yet, but the saffron party is confident about forming government with full majority. BJP has also blamed SP of acting as a roadblock to the development of the state for years.

Varanasi South is constituency No. 389 of Uttar Pradesh legislative assembly. It is situated in Varanasi district and comes under the Varanasi Lok Sabha constituency. It is an open constituency.

Number of voters

As per the Election Commission data, this constituency has a total of 2,72,845 registered electorates out of which 1,51,589 are male and 1,21,256 are female registered voters.

Watch this video

Who was the winner last time

The BJP won this constituency during the 2012 Assembly elections. Shyamdev Roy Chaudhari from BJP bagged 57,868 votes followed by Dayashankar Mishra of Congress who got 44,046 votes. The voter turnout was 55.49 per cent.

What are the key issues

Development and cleanliness are some major issues in this region of Uttar Pradesh.

Who are the competing candidates
Dr Neelkanth Tiwari (BJP), Rakesh Tripathi (BSP), Rajesh Mishra (Congress) and Kishan Seth (IND).

Why this constituency is important?
Varanasi was considered as one of the safest zone for the BJP and even its sitting MLA had kept the seat safe for seven long years. But, after the entire dispute over idol immersion in 2015, Congress seems to have taken a lead here.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE and NSE and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Go to Top