Uttar Pradesh Elections 2017: Rohaniya constituency; it’s SP’s Mahendra Singh Patel vs BJP’s Surendra Narayan Singh vs Krishna Patel

By: | Updated: February 22, 2017 10:49 PM

As per the data with Election Commission of India, Rohaniya has 3,16,973 registered voters.

As per the data with Election Commission of India, Rohaniya has 3,16,973 registered voters.

In a high-octane battle for Uttar Pradesh’s throne, all leading parties are trying their best to woo voters. While third phase of the polls, which was conducted February 19th, saw 61 per cent polling, with 69 major constituencies voting across 12 districts, the fourth phase of Assembly elections will take place on February 23. The key parties to watch out for during the elections are Samajwadi Party (SP), Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Congress, Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP). The campaigning for fourth phase has seen some below the belt remarks, with leaders mentioning acronyms like ‘KASAB’ and mentions of Shamshaan in their speeches. While the ongoing polls are touted to be a litmus test for the ruling SP and chief minister Akhilesh Yadav, PM Narendra Modi-led BJP has emerged as a strong competitor for the ruling party in the state. Talking about the public sentiments, UP chief minister Akhilesh Yadav has managed to build an image of ‘leader for youth’ and have gained a huge vote bank in various regions of the state. CM’s ‘kaam bolta hai’ campaign has gained a good response in rural as well as the urban areas of the state. However, there has been a little anger against him because of the law-and-order failure in the state. We take a look at the crucial constituency of Rohaniya, which falls under Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s Varanasi Lok Sabha constituency.

Why is Rohaniya important

Rohaniya, which is constituency No. 387 of Uttar Pradesh legislative assembly, falls under PM Narendra Modi’s Lok Sabha constituency of Varanasi. It is situated in Rae Bareli district. It will be a matter of prestige for the Prime Minister and BJP to emerge victorious here.

Contesting Candidates

1    PRAMOD KUMAR SINGH    Bahujan Samaj Party
2    MAHENDRA SINGH PATEL    Samajwadi Party
3    SURENDRA NARAYAN SINGH    Bharatiya Janata Party
4    KRISHNA PATEL                       Independent

Number of registered voters

As per the data with Election Commission of India, Rohaniya has 3,16,973 registered voters. It comprises 1,79,286 male and 1,37,684 female registered voters.

Who won Ayodhya last time

In the 2012 Assembly elections, Apna Dal’s Anupriya Patel had won this constituency by a convincing margin of 17,583 votes. Anupriya, party’s, got 57,812 votes. BSP candidate Ramakant Singh, the runner-up, got 40,229 votes. However, Patel went on to fight 2014 Lok Sabha and vacated her seat after emerging victorious leading to by-election. Fighting by-elections Apna Dal’s candidate Krishna Patel lost to SP’s Mahendra S Patell.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE and NSE and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Switch to Hindi Edition