UP polls 2017: When Yogi Adityanath defied the BJP leadership

By: |
New Delhi | Updated: March 19, 2017 4:26:42 PM

Yogi Adityanath sworn in as the 21st Chief minister of Uttar Pradesh today in the presence of governor Ram Naik.

UP Swearing-in ceremony, Swearing-in ceremony, UP CM Yogi Adityanath, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Pm Narendra Modi, PM Modi, BJP Party president Amit Shah, Amit Shah, Uttar Pradesh Elections, UP Elections 2017, Yogi Adityanath, Keshav Prasad Maurya, Deptuty CM, Deputy CM designate Keshav Prasad Maurya, Hindu, Muslim, Bharatiya Janata Party, BJPUP Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath. (PTI)

Yogi Adityanath sworn in as the Chief minister of Uttar Pradesh today in the presence of governor Ram Naik, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, and many other senior leaders. In the past, he has been elected to the Parliament for 5 consecutive terms in the 1998, 1999, 2004, 2009 and 2014 elections from Gorakhpur. But not many know that there was a time when Adityanath openly resist the BJP leadership in the search for greater power within the party. Constant conflict between the two fronts led to the emergence of a separate powerbase in eastern UP.

You may also want to watch-

Adityanath had organised a three-day Virat Hindu Mahasammelan in December 2006 at Gorakhpur at the same time when the Bharatia Janata Party (BJP) held its National Executive Meet in Lucknow. This led to a conflict between the two in the upcoming Uttar Pradesh Elections in 2007. This time because, Yogi Adityanath wanted more than hundred seats for the candidates that he selected to which the party leadership disagreed which led to a conflict between the two. The difference between the two soon ended with some inputs from the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) and a compromise was reached as a result of which eight of Adityanath’s candidates were fielded.

This was not the only incident when he defied his party, in March 2010 Adityanath was a part of the BJP leaders group who went against the party on the Women’s Reservation Bill.

You may also want to watch-

Yogi Adityanath is a Mahant who hails from a Rajput Family in Dehradun and has a Bachelor’s Degree in Science. He became the Mahanat of the Gorakhnath Mutt temple in Gorakhpur after the death of his father Mahant Avaidyanath in September 2014.

Yogi Adityanath is the 21st Chief Minister of UP and he sworn in along with his two Deputy CM, Keshav Prasad Maurya, Dinesh Sharma and 44 cabinet ministers.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE and NSE and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Next Stories
1From Shahrukh Khan to Mother Teresa, Yogi Adityanath has slammed them all
2Yogi Adityanath Press Conference: UP CM vows to follow Modi’s ‘Sabka Saath Sabka Vikas’ mantra
3Uttar Pradesh Assembly Elections 2017: Hours before swearing-in, CM-desinate Yogi Adiyanath takes stock of preparations