1. Raebareli constituency Assembly election winner 2017

Raebareli constituency Assembly election winner 2017

Rae Bareli is considered as the bastion of Gandhi parivaar.

By: | New Delhi | Published: March 11, 2017 5:03 PM
Rae Bareli is considered as the bastion of Gandhi parivaar.

Uttar Pradesh Elections 2017 are over and results are here. The outcome of the polls will have a bearing on the country’s political landscape. Touted as the semi final before the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections, assembly polls are the litmus test for political parties and Prime Minister Narendra Modi. SP-Congress alliance led by Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav and Rahul Gandhi and BSP spearheaded by Mayawati have made it essentially a triangular contest. Urging the voters to end the ‘vikas ka vanvas’ (exile of development) and projecting demonetisation as an attack against corruption, Modi and BJP accused SP and BSP of plundering the state over the years and targeted the SP-Congress alliance, saying the two had come together to save themselves. 29-year-old Aditi Singh, daughter of five time MLA Akhilesh Kumar Singh, is Congress’ candidate from UP’s Rae Bareli constituency. Akhilesh Kumar Singh, who is known as a local strongman, has passed on the baton to his daughter Aditi Singh. She is facing a contest from BSP candidate Shahbaz Khan. Uttar Pradesh has seen a 64 per cent voting in first phase of Assembly elections. BSP, BJP, and Congress-SP alliance are making all efforts win big in the politically crucial state. A tough fight expected between four parties in the much-awaited assembly election. The campaign in the first and second of seven phased Assembly elections has been concluded for 140 seats of western Uttar Pradesh. Prime Minister Narendra Modi, UP Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav, BSP chief Mayawati and Congress VP Rahul Gandhi have been trying tooth and nails to win the elections.

Meanwhile, lets have a look at key issues of crucial constituency of Rae Bareli, the bastion of Gandhi parivaar:

Number of voters

As per a 2012 election commission data, there were 313729 total electors in Rae Bareli out of which 168820 were male electors and 144909 were female electors.

Watch this video

Who won the elections last time

Akhilesh Kumar Singh had won the 2012 Assembly election from Rae Bareli. While Singh always won on a Congress ticket, in last Assembly elections of 2012, he fought from peace party. He had defeated SP’s Ram Pratap Yadav by over 29,000 votes.

Who all are contesting this time

ADITI SINGH (Indian National Congress), ANITA SRIVASTAVA (Bharatiya Janata Party), BHARATI PANDEY (Rashtriya Lok Dal), MHD. SHAHBAZ KHAN (Bahujan Samaj Party) are the prominent faces in fray from Rae Bareli.

Key Issues

The election basics – roads, water, electricity, better employment and education opportunities are the key issues here.

Why is constituency important

Rae Bareli is considered as a Congress bastion. Winning election here is more than just adding to number to Assembly Seats. It’s a matter of prestige here for the grand old party. While the Contituency has always voted in favour of Congress except for a couple of ocassion in Lok Sabha elections, the party has struggled to win in the state assembly polls. Last time, party strongman Akhilesh Kumar Singh had defected to another party and managed to win.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE and NSE and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Go to Top