Top leaders of Congress and BJP face voters test today, know details of key battles here

By: |
Updated: Apr 23, 2019 12:14 AM

Lok Sabha Election 2019: Voters will decided the fate of Congress President Rahul Gandhi and BJP President Amit Shah in the polling for third phase of Lok Sabha election today.

Third Phase of Lok Sabha Election:. Voting for 116 seats is taking place on Tuesday.

Third Phase of Lok Sabha Election 2019: The biggest phase of this Lok Sabha election with total 116 seats is taking place on Tuesday. There are over 1600 candidates in fray for 116 seats in 15 states and union territories.

As per the original election notification, there were only 115 Lok Sabha seats in the third phase. However, voting for one additional seat Tripura East will also take place on Tuesday, taking the total number of seats going to poll in the third phase to 116. Election Commission has deferred polling in the seat due to law and order situation.

Though, part voting will also take place in Anantnag Lok Sabha seat in Jammu & Kashmir but the seat will be counted in the fourth phase and the last phase of voting will take place in Anantnang in the fourth phase on April 29.

This phase is important as the voters will decide the fate of two national parties Tuesday. While Congress president Rahul Gandhi is contesting from Wayanad in Kerala, BJP president Amit Shah is fighting his first Lok Sabha election from Gandhi Nagar, Gujarat.

READ ALSO: Lok Sabha Election: Congress tops the list in giving tickets to candidates with criminal record

Voting for all 26 seats in Gujarat, all 20 seats in Kerala, and total 2 seats in Goa and one seat each in Dadra & Nagar Haveli, and Daman & Diu will go to polls in the third phase.

Voting for 14 seats each in Karnataka and Maharasthra, 10 seats in Uttar Pradesh, 7 seats in Chhattisgarh, 6 seats in Odisha, 5 seats each in West Bengal and Bihar, 4 seats in Assam and one seat in Jammu & Kashmir (part voting in Anantnag seat) will also take place Tuesday.

Key contests in third phase

Gandhi Nagar Lok Sabha Seat, Gujarat

BJP president Amit Shah is fighting from Gandhinagar in Gujarat. A seat held by veteran BJP leader Lal Krishna Advani. While Congress has fielded Dr CJ Chawada from the seat, BSP has fielded Jayendra Karshanbhai Rathod.

Wayanad Lok Sabha Seat, Kerala

Rahul Gandhi’s decision to surprise from Wayanad in Kerala surprised many as many considered his apprehensions in facing a tough battle with union minister Smriti Irani. However, it was also a calculated move with the aim to gain support in the South to compensate for any loss in north. CPI has fielded PP Suneer from Wayanad against Rahul Gandhi. BSP has fielded Mohammad PK from the seat with a sizeable Muslim population.

READ ALSO: Every fifth candidate in 3rd phase has criminal record, two-third charged for serious crimes like rape, murder

Mainpuri Lok Sabha seat

Veteran Samajwadi Party leader Mulayam Singh Yadav is contesting election from Mainpur in Central Uttar Pradesh. In 2014 Lok Sabha election, Mulayam has won from both Azamgarh in eastern Uttar Pradesh and Mainpuri in central Uttar Pradesh. However, later he quit Mainpuri and retained Azamgarh.

Samajwadi Party president Akhilesh Yadav is fighting from Azamgarh in this election.

There is direct contest between SP-BSP-RLD’s joint candidate Mulayam Singh Yadav and BJP’s candidate Prem Chand Shakya in Mainpuri.

READ ALSO: AAP creates army of thousands of WhatsApp volunteers for Delhi election

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.