Puri election result LIVE: Can BJP’s Sambit Patra win tough battle in Odisha’s temple town?

By: |
Updated: May 23, 2019 7:01:07 AM

Puri Election Result LIVE: Sambit Patra would be hoping to make his debut in Lok Sabha by winning Puri Lok Sabha seat. Counting of votes to begin shortly.

Puri election result live, puri election live, sambit patra result, odisha election resultSambit Patra is contesting from Puri Lok Sabha seat as BJP candidate. (File Photo)

Puri Lok Sabha election result: Much before the Lok Sabha election dates were announced, there were murmurs of Prime Minister Narendra Modi contesting from Odisha’s famous temple town of Puri apart from Varanasi in Uttar Pradesh. However, the Bharatiya Janata Party put all speculations to rest when it announced the name of Sambit Patra as its candidate for Puri Lok Sabha election.

Lok Sabha Election 2019: Full Coverage

Going by past elections, Puri, where the famous Jagannath temple is situated, has never been an easy playing field for the BJP. It is the Biju Janata Dal (BJD) which has ruled the city historically. The party has won the seat in five consecutive Lok Sabha elections. The BJD has won Puri seat in 1998, 1999, 2004, 2009 and 2014.

Despite the Modi wave sweeping the country in 2014, Puri voters preferred to stay with the BJD. Party’s candidate Pinaki Mishra got over five lakh votes defeating nearest rival Congress’ Sucharita Mohanty by more than three lakh votes. BJP’s Ashok Sahu was a distant third just over two lakh votes. The Congress has fielded Satya Prakash Nayak and the BSP has given ticket to Nrusingha Charas Das.

Sambit Patra, BJP national spokesperson, is facing a daunting task of defeating BJD heaviweight Pinaki Mishra. If Patra manages to stun Mishra, it would be for the first time that the BJP would win the seat.

In 2014, the BJD had won 20 out of total 21 Lok Sabha seats that Odisha has. Puri Lok Sabha constituency constitutes seven Assembly seats – Puri, Brahmagiri, Satyabadi, Pipili, Chilika, Ranput and Nayagarh.

Voting in Puri was held on April 23 in the third phase of seven-phased Lok Sabha elections.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.

Next Stories
1SEBI steps in to de-stress the stressed, but are the measures taken by the regulator good enough?