Narendra Modi swearing-in ceremony date, time and guest list: PM to take oath today, BIMSTEC, Kyrgyzstan, Mauritius leaders to attend

By: |
Updated: May 30, 2019 12:25 PM

Narendra Modi will take oath as the Prime Minister of India for second term at 7 pm on Thursday. Leaders of the BIMSTEC, Kyrgyzstan and Mauritius Prime Minister Pravind Jugnauth have been invited on the occasion.

Modi oath date, narendra modi victoryNarendra Modi will take oath as Prime Minister of India for second term on May 30 in New Delhi.

Narendra Modi swearing-in ceremony date time: Narendra Modi will be sworn-in as the Prime Minister of India for a second successive term on Thursday at 7 pm in the presence of 8,000 guests which includes leaders of the BIMSTEC nations (Nepal, Bhutan, Myanmar, Bangladesh, Thailand and Sri Lanka), Kyrgyzstan which holds the chair of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) and Mauritius Prime Minister Pravind Jugnauth.

President Ram Nath Kovind will administer him the oath of office and secrecy to Narendra Modi and members of Council of Ministers at the Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Also Read: Narendra Modi swearing-in ceremony LIVE

An invitation to Kyrgyzstan is seen as New Delhi’s outreach to the SCO which has China, Russia, Uzbekistan, Kazakhstan, Tajikistan and Pakistan as members. India became a member of the SCO along with Pakistan in 2017.

Mauritian PM Jugnauth was also the chief guest at the Pravasi Bharatiya Divas in January this year. He is one of the most well-placed People of Indian Origin (PIO) in the world.

In 2014, Modi had invited heads of the SAARC (Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Nepal, Maldives, Pakistan and Sri Lanka) for his swearing-in ceremony. But India’s engagement with BIMSTEC rose after New Delhi boycotted Pakistan’s invite for SAARC summit in 2016 following the Uri terror attack.

Modi led the ruling NDA to a stunning victory in the recently-concluded general elections, winning nearly 350 seats in 543 members Lok Sabha. The BJP got an absolute majority on its own, bagging 299 seats (as per trends so far) — at least 27 more than the half-way mark and 17 more than it had won in 2014. In 2014, when Narendra Modi had led the NDA to power with 336 seats. The BJP had won 282 seats. This was the first time in three decades when a political party gained an absolute majority in the Lok Sabha.

At that time, the swearing-in ceremony of Modi government was a grand affair as it was attended by the heads of SAARC countries including Pakistani Premier Nawaz Sharif. However, there is no clarity on whether the ceremony will be grander than 2014 or the OM chooses to keep it a low-key affair.

Modi is now only the third Indian leader after Congress’ Jawaharlal Nehru and Indira Gandhi to retain power for a second consecutive term with full majority in Lok Sabha. Modi’s 2019 win is the first after 1971 elections when then Prime Minister Indira Gandhi made a comeback with an absolute majority. Indira was made the Prime Minister following the death of her father and PM Jawaharlal Nehru in 1966. In 1967 elections, Indira was able to get 283 seats out of a total of 520 seats. This was Indira Gandhi’s first electoral victory in the general elections. However, she was expelled in 1969 for indiscipline but retained the power. In 1971 elections, Indira was able to increase her party’s tally to 352, and thus retained the power.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, Check out latest IPO News, Best Performing IPOs, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.

Next Stories
1Punjab Elections 2022: Shiromani Akali Dal announces list of candidates, fields 21 first-timers
2Gorakhpur: PM Modi kicks off UP campaign; says criminals in jail, investments up under BJP govt
3AK-203 assault rifles deal: Boost to BJP ahead of UP elections?