Nagpur Election Result LIVE: Nitin Gadkari consolidates lead, margin close to 1.5 lakh

By: |
Updated: May 23, 2019 6:21 PM

Nagpur election result: Union Minister Nitin Gadkari is up against Congress candidate Nana Patole who had won the 2014 Lok Sabha election as a BJP candidate from Maharashtra's Bhandara-Gondiya constituency.

nitin gadkari result, nagpur election result live, nitin gadkari result, nagpur lok sabha constituencyUnion minister and senior BJP leader Nitin Gadkari (PTI Photo)

Nagpur election result 2019 LIVE: When the Bharatiya Janata Party decided to field Nitin Gadkari from Nagpur seat in 2014, the party was aware of the stiff challenge he would face. However, Gadkari recorded an emphatic victory over Congress candidate Vilas Muttemwar who had won the seat four times earlier. Gadkari, who got over 5.80 lakh votes in 2014, would be hoping to repeat his stellar performance in 2019 as well. Counting of votes for Nagpur Lok Sabha election is underway.


6.20 pm: Union minister and former BJP president Nitin Gadkari is maintaining a healthy lead of over 1.4 lakh votes over nearest rival Nana Patole.

2.49 pm: BJP candidate and union minister Nitin Gadkari is leading from Nagpur against Congress candidate Nana Patole. Gadkari has managed to garner 226,257 votes while the Congress is trailing behind with 157,448 votes.

10.16 am: BJP candidate Nitin Gadkari is leading from Nagpur with 11,920 votes. He is up against Congress candidate Nana Patole who is believed to be a strong rural leader from Maharashtra.

Gadkari, who is the Union Roads and Highways Minister in the Narendra Modi government, is pitted against Congress candidate Nana Patole in Lok Sabha election 2019. Patole, who had won the 2014 polls from Maharashtra’s Bhandara-Gondiya constituency, resigned from the BJP to join the Congress in 2017.

While there have been reports in the past that Nitin Gadkari may be projected as the PM face if needed, the Union minister has repeatedly shot down all such speculations. “I have said it earlier also that I am not a prime ministerial candidate. The BJP will win more seats than the 2014 general election and Narendra Modi will again be the prime minister,” Gadkari had told reporters.

Nagpur, which houses the headquarters of the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS), includes six Assembly seats – North, South, East, Central, West and Southwest.

Despite being RSS’ home, Nagpur has historically elected Congress candidate. The grand old party won the seat in 1999, 2004 and 2009.

The seat has witnessed a steady rise in voting percentage in the last two general elections. Nagpur recorded a voting percentage of 50.7 in 2009 and in 2014 it increased to 60.29 per cent.

As far as population is considered, Nagpur has 73 per cent of Hindu population and 15 per cent Buddhists. Muslims comprise 10 per cent of population in Nagpur while Christians just one per cent.

Voting in Nagpur was held in the first of the seven-phased Lok Sabha election  2019. Counting of votes is scheduled to be done on May 23.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, Check out latest IPO News, Best Performing IPOs, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.

Next Stories
1Karnataka to receive 13.90 lakh vaccine vials in a couple of days, says K Sudhakar