Nagaur election result: Hanuman Beniwal defeats Jyoti Mirdha by over 1.8 lakh votes

By: |
Updated: May 23, 2019 10:02 PM

Nagaur Election Result: Beniwal got 660051 votes with 54.86 per cent vote share. His nearest contender could secure just 478791 votes with 39.8 per cent vote share.  

nagaur election result live, hanuman beniwal, nagaur lok sabha resultHanuman Beniwal (Image source: Twitter)

Nagaur Lok Sabha Election Result: Hanuman Beniwal has defeated Jyoti Mirdha of Congress by over 1.8 lakh votes in Nagaur. Beniwal got 660051 votes with 54.86 per cent vote share. His nearest contender could secure just 478791 votes with 39.8 per cent vote share.  The contest here was directly between the two national parties — the Congress and BJP. The saffron party had replaced its sitting MP and Minister CR Choudhary with popular Jat leader Hanuman Beniwal. Beniwal was earlier with the BJP but was suspended after he spoke against former Rajasthan Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje and Rajendra Rathore in 2013. Nagaur Lok Sabha Election result will be declared on May 23.

Lok Sabha Election 2019: Full Coverage

Beniwal took on Congress nominee Jyoti Mirdha who had contested against CR Choudhary in 2014 but lost the fight by over 75,000 votes. In the last election, BJP leader Choudhary had got 4,14,791 votes but Mirdha could secure just 3,39,573. However, Mirdha had won this seat in 2009. She had defeated BJP’s Bindu Chaudhary by over 1.5 lakh votes. Mirdha got 3,33,261 votes but Chaudhary had to settle with just 1,78,124.


6:00 pm: Hanuman Beniwal has taken a huge lead in Nagaur.


8:05 am: Counting of votes has begun.

The Congress has once again reposed its faith in Mirdha against Hanuman Beniwal who has considerable clout in the Jat community. In 2018, Beniwal organized five Kisan Maha Rallies in Nagaur, Barmer, Bikaner, Sikar and Jaipur. It was reported that over 8 lakh supporters were part of his Kisaan Hunkar Maharally in Jaipur. He also founded Rashtriya Loktantrik Party which won three assembly seats in 2018.

Beniwal’s association with the saffron party is a decade old. The saffron party first fielded him in 2008 and he defeated his nearest contender by 24,000 votes. However, the BJP suspended him in 2013. Beniwal then decided to contest as an independent and defeated the BJP candidate by over 23,000 votes. In the last state election, Beniwal again won from Khinvsar assembly seat.

Nagaur parliamentary seat has eight assembly segments: Ladnun, Deedwana, Jayal, Nagaur, Khinvsar, Makrana, Parbatsar and Nawan. In 2018, six of these seats went to the Congress, while the BJP won only two — Nagaur and Makrana. Nagaur has traditionally been with the Congress as it has won this seat 12 times ever since it came into being in 1957. The BJP won from here only three times — 1997, 2004, 2014.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, Check out latest IPO News, Best Performing IPOs, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.

Next Stories
1Karnataka to receive 13.90 lakh vaccine vials in a couple of days, says K Sudhakar