Nagaland, Meghalaya elections 2018 LIVE updates: 56 percent voting in Nagaland, over 27 percent voter turn out recorded in Meghalaya till 1 pm

Nagaland, Meghalaya elections 2018 LIVE updates: It’s election day in Meghalaya and Nagaland. Polling for 59 assembly seats each in Meghalaya and Nagaland is being held between 7 am and 4 pm. The results will be announced on March 3.

Nagaland, Meghalaya elections 2018 LIVE updates

Nagaland, Meghalaya elections 2018 LIVE updates: It’s election day in Meghalaya and Nagaland. Polling for 59 assembly seats each in Meghalaya and Nagaland is being held between 7 am and 4 pm. However, voting in a few polling stations located in the interior districts of Nagaland will be concluded by 3 pm. The results will be announced on March 3. Assemblies of both the north-eastern states have 60 legislators but polling will be held in 59 constituencies. The reasons are in Meghalaya, the polling was declared cancelled in Williamnagar after the sudden death of NCP candidate Jonathone N Sangma in an IED blast in East Garo Hills district on February 18. Meanwhile, in Nagaland, prior to polls, NDPP chief Neiphiu Rio was declared elected unopposed from the Northern Angami-II constituency.

Track latest updates of Nagaland, Meghalaya assembly elections 2018 

3:14 pm: In Meghalaya, polling started at 7 am and no incidents of violence was reported from anywhere in the state, Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) of the state F R Kharkongor said. “We have received complaints of EVM malfunctioning in some booths. The faulty machines were replaced and voting resumed within a short time in those polling stations,” he said.

3:09 PM: Voting is being held in 59 seats of the 60-member Assembly as the election in Williamnagar in East Garo Hills district has been postponed, following the killing of NCP candidate Jonathane N Sangma in an IED blast on February 18.

3:04 PM: Women voters in colourful tribal attires were seen queueing up at the polling stations since morning. Former Union minister and Congress MP Vincent Pala, senior Congress leader and Shillong East MLA, Ampareen Lyngdoh and state BJP president Shibun Lyngdoh were among the early voters.

2:59 PM: The CEO said a total of 106 companies of the Central Armed Police Forces (CAPF), along with the state armed personnel and police, were deployed across the state, especially in the troubled Garo Hills region.

2:54 PM: Today’s polling will decide the fate of 361 candidates, including 31 women and 80 Independents, election office sources said, adding that 18.09 lakh voters were eligible to exercise their franchise in 3,025 polling stations in the state.

2:49 PM: For the first time, 67 all-women polling stations and 61 model polling stations were set up in the state, the CEO said. State Director General of Police (DGP) S B Singh said 580 polling stations were categorised as “vulnerable” and that strict security measures were in place across Meghalaya to ensure a free-and-fair election.

2:10 PM: 56 percent voter out recorded till 1 pm in Nagaland and 27.75 percent polling in Meghalaya till 1 PM, according to reports.

2:00 PM: Nagaland’s Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Abhijit Sinha said a blast was reported from a polling booth at Tizit village in Mon district about an hour before the voting started.

1:50 PM: “A handmade crude bomb was lobbed at the polling booth at around 5:45 am, in which one village council member, Yanlon, suffered minor injuries in the leg,” he said. However, polling is continuing in the said booth.

1:40 PM: There were no other reports of violence from anywhere in the state till 10 am, Sinha said. With Nationalist Democratic People’s Party (NDPP) chief Neiphiu Rio winning the Northern Angami-II seat unopposed, polling is being held in 59 seats in the north-eastern state.

1:30 PM: Polling had started at 7 am, but due to malfunctioning of electronic voting machines (EVMs) and voter-verifiable paper audit trail (VVPAT) machines, voting in around 100 polling stations got delayed, the CEO said.

1:20 PM: Chief Minister T R Zeliang and his family members cast their votes in Jalukie town of Peren district. A total of 11,76,432 voters — 5,97,281 men, 5,79,151 women and 5,884 service voters — are eligible to exercise their franchise in the Nagaland polls.

10:45 AM: Governor of Meghalaya Ganga Prasad has cast his vote at Oakland A4 polling booth at MTDC Office North in Shillong.

10:10 AM: In Meghalaya, the BSF is keeping a close vigil along the 443-km-long India-Bangladesh border, the CEO said. It has been learnt that the Election Commission (EC) has appointed 43 observers to ensure hassle-free polls, according to reports.

10:10 AM: The assembly results of Meghalaya will be crucial Congress as  it has been ruling the north-eastern state for the last 10 years.

9:05 AM: Meanwhile, reports are coming from Nagaland that one person has been injured in a bomb blast in a polling station in Mon District’s Tizit in the north-eastern state.

9:00 AM: Nagaland Chief Minister TR Zeliang said,”We expect that polling will finish smoothly & we will get absolute majority as per voice of the people. We hope peace will prevail in the state and we will move for Naga political solution.”

8:00 am: Meanwhile, Prime Minister Narendra Modi has tweeted this morning exhorting voters in Meghalaya and Nagaland to exercise their franchise. “I urge the people of Meghalaya and Nagaland to vote in large numbers in the Assembly Elections taking place today,” PM Modi tweeted.

7:35 AM: Reports are coming from the north-eastern state of Meghalaya that there was some technical glitch at Shillong model polling station North. However, voting has begun at Shillong model polling station North after it was delayed due to issues with the EVM.

7:30 AM: In Meghalaya, the fates of 370 candidates will be decided by A total of 18.4 lakh eligible voters who will exercise their franchise in 3,083 polling stations in the state. In a historic first, Meghalaya’s Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) F R Kharkongor said for the first time, 67 all-women polling stations and 61 model polling stations were set up in the state.

7:14 AM: Voters have started queue up outside Chengkompara-25 polling station in Ampatigiri in Meghalaya; State Chief Minister Mukul Sangma is the sitting MLA from the constituency.

7:10 AM: Polling has begun in 59 seats of Nagaland. Voting has also commenced in 59 constituencies in Meghalaya.

The assembly elections have been termed as battle of prestige between ruling party at the Centre BJP and principal opposition Congress. Earlier, North-eastern states were considered as Congress bastions but BJP led by Prime Minister Narendra Modi and party president Amit Shah had made in-roads in Assam, Manipur and Arunachal Pradesh. Now, BJP wants to conquer Meghalaya and Nagaland. In Meghalaya, Congress has fielded 59 candidates and BJP has its nominees in 47 constituencies. In Nagaland, BJP is contesting in the 20 seats and by and large relying on performance of alliance partner NDPP (the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party). Whereas Congress has fielded candidates in only 18 seats.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, Check out latest IPO News, Best Performing IPOs, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express Telegram Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.